Salisbury coach Berkman among 8 inducted into National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Jim Berkman, Quinn Carney, Michele DeJuliis, Sue Heether, Bill Miller, Tracy Stumpf, Ryan Wade and Michael Watson were inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Saturday night at the Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley.

Here are brief bios on each:

  • Berkman, who completed his 25th season as head coach at Salisbury in 2013, is the all-time winningest coach in NCAA men’s history, with a 428-48 career record, and has won the Division III national championship 10 times.
  • Carney, a four-year starter as a midfielder at Maryland, was a two-time All-American, earning first-team honors in 2001.
  • DeJuliis (Loch Raven) was a four-time All-American at Penn State, earning first-team honors in 1995, 1996 and 1997.
  • Heether, a four-year starter at Loyola College, was a first-team All-American in 1990.
  • Miller was a four-time All-American at Hobart, earning first-team honors in 1989, 1990 and 1991.
  • Stumpf was a four-year starter on defense at Maryland and a two-time first team All-American, earning the honor in 1985 and 1986.
  • Wade (Severn) was a three-time All-American at North Carolina, earning first-team honors in 1993 and 1994.
  • Watson (St. Paul’s) was a four-time All-American at Virginia, earning first-team honors in 1996 and 1997.

More than 380 lacrosse greats are enshrined in the Hall of Fame, which is at US Lacrosse headquarters in Baltimore.


Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad