Don’t miss the ultimate foodie event, The Baltimore Sun's Secret Supper

McDonogh grad Meurer honored as ECAC Defensive Player of Year

Ohio State senior Joe Meurer (McDonogh) was named Eastern College Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year on Wednesday, joining Matt Kawamoto as the only winners in program history.

Meurer has started all 13 games this season, picking up 13 ground balls and causing 11 turnovers. He is the leader of the No. 8 scoring defense in the country and was named a 2014 Senior CLASS Award finalist as well as an All-ECAC first-team performer for the second consecutive season. A team captain, Meurer helped guide the Buckeyes to a No. 2 seed in the ECAC tournament and a tie atop the final regular-season league standings.

In his sixth season at the helm of Air Force, Eric Seremet was selected by his peers as the ECAC Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. It is also marks the first time a Falcons coach has won the award. Seremet guided Air Force to an 8-5 record, a 3-1 conference mark and a share of the ECAC regular-season title – the first time the Falcons have won a Division I conference championship. The eight wins are the most by an Air Force team since 1995.

Among other All-ECAC first-team selections with Maryland ties were Ohio State sophomore defenseman Robby Haus (Gilman) and Fairfield sophomore midfielder TJ Neubauer (Loyola High).

Blaze's glory: Furman freshman midfielder-faceoff specialist Hil Blaze (McDonogh) was named to the All-Atlantic Sun second team.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad