Become a digitalPLUS subscriber. 99¢ for 4 weeks.
Sports Lacrosse Insider

Bayhawks to begin 2014 schedule with road game vs. Rabil, Cannons

The two-time defending Major League Lacrosse champion Chesapeake Bayhawks will open their 2014 schedule with a road game against Paul Rabil (Johns Hopkins) and the Boston Cannons on April 26. The Bayhawks return for their sixth summer at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis for their home opener on May 3 against Rookie of the Year Rob Pannell and the New York Lizards.

The regular season will again be 14 games -- seven home and seven away.

“We are excited about our schedule this season,” coach Dave Cottle said. “Every season starts with a blank slate, and we know we will have to work twice as hard this year to reach continued success on the field. It’s great for the league to be expanding to Florida, and we are looking forward to having the Launch added this year. We are excited for the challenge and are ready to get started at training camp this spring.”

In a format change, the semifinals will be played the weekend of Aug. 16 at the home stadiums of the two higher seeds. The championship will be Aug. 23 at a location to be announced.

Among other schedule highlights:

A visit to Charlotte on May 10 to play the Hounds in a rematch of last season's championship game, which the Bayhawks won, 10-9, at PPL Park in Chester, Pa.

Two games against the newly announced Florida Launch, which is relocating to Palm Beach County, Fla., from Hamilton, Ontario. The Bayhawks will host the Launch on May 17 and visit on June 28.

A two-game homestand to end the season against the Denver Outlaws (July 31), who last season completed the first perfect regular season in league history, and the Hounds (Aug. 9).

The Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship is next July, and fans will get a peek at Team USA when it plays the MLL All-Stars at Havard Stadium in Cambridge, Mass., on June 26. All MLL teams will have a bye week the second weekend in July because of the world tournament, which will be held July 10-19 at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo.
 
2014 Bayhawks schedule
          

Date

Opponent

Saturday, April 26

@Boston Cannons

Saturday, May 3

vs. New York Lizards

Saturday, May 10

@Charlotte Hounds

Saturday, May 17

vs. Florida Launch

Saturday, May 24

Bye

Saturday, May 31

vs. Ohio Machine

Thursday, June 5

@Rochester Rattlers

Saturday, June 14

vs. Boston Cannons

Saturday, June 21

@Denver Outlaws

Thursday, June 26

All-Star Game at Cambridge, Mass.

Saturday, June 28

@Florida Launch

Friday, July 4

@Ohio Machine

Saturday, July 12

FIL World Championship Bye

Thursday, July 17

vs. Rochester Rattlers

Sunday, July 27

@New York Lizards

Thursday, July 31

vs. Denver Outlaws

Saturday, August 9

vs. Charlotte Hounds

 

Copyright © 2014, The Baltimore Sun
Related Content
Comments
Loading