Ichiro Suzuki hit a single in the tenth inning that clinched Japan's consecutive World Baseball Classic title.

Suzuki's single scored both Seiichi Uchikawa and Akinori Iwamura late in the tenth, laying to waste Bum-Ho Lee's single earlier in the ninth that gave Jong-Wook Lee a chance to make it 3-3.

Daisuke Matsuzaka, the reigning WBC MVP, was announced as the MVP of this edition as well.