Nic Hammer

North Harford quarterback Nicholas Hammer is among the 69 football scholar athletes to be honored Wednesday. (Scott Serio, Patuxent Publishing / October 4, 2013)

Sixty-nine of the area's most academic-minded high school football players will be honored Wednesday night at the 51st Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner sponsored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame at Martin’s West.

Five of the players from Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford and Howard counties will receive regional scholarships, sharing $20,000 in scholarship money.

In addition to the scholars, the event also honors the area's top football teams from last fall. The two state champions covered by the Greater Baltimore Chapter, Class 3A winner Franklin and Class 2A winner Midldletown, will receive Ben Eaton Sr. Championship awards. The honor recognizes the legacy of the late Dunbar football coach.

McDonogh, the MIAA A Conference champion and The Baltimore Sun's No. 1 team, will receive the A. Paul Menton Award as the Greater Baltimore area's top-rated prep team.

Follow @SunVarsity on Twitter.

The Towson University football team also will be recognized for its stellar 2013 season, which culminated in an appearance in the Football Championship Subdivision championship game.

The following are the high school scholar athletes to be honored:

Brian Anderson, City

Imani Anderson, Dulaney

Kenneth Armiger, St. Mary’s

Harpal Bains, Eastern Tech

Austin Baltimore, Patterson Mil

André Beckles, Milford Mill

Alexander Berencz, Sparrows Point

Robert Carter Jr., Long Reach

Justice Cash, Annapolis

Nicholas Davis, Perry Hall

Peter DeGuzman, Towson

Alvin Dennis Jr., Aberdeen

Brian DeStefano, Severn

Darien Dixon, McDonogh