Don’t miss the ultimate foodie event, The Baltimore Sun's Secret Supper

Minds in Motion scholarship recipients announced

The Baltimore Sun

Seven Baltimore-area student-athletes were among the 13 state recipients chosen for the 2013 Minds In Motion Scholarships, provided by The Allstate Foundation.

A luncheon held in their honor will take place June 4 at M&T Bank Stadium, where each of the winners will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Dr. Lillian Lowery, state superintendent of schools, will be the guest speaker.

This is the sixth year for the scholarship program, which awards $1,000 toward post-secondary education to each of the female and male senior student-athletes chosen who attend an MPSSAA school and participate in MPSSAA recognized sports.

Here are this year's winners, with the area recipients in bold:

Natalie Alper, Atholton

Emily Hardgrove, Bethesda-Chevy Chase

Vincent Ciattei, Perry Hall

Sih Oka-Zeh, Poly

Chad Cowden, Boonsboro

Abby Smucker, C. Milton Wright

Jared Kyle Dean, Queen Anne’s

Cecilia Stoltzfus, Eleanor Roosevelt

Brandon Dixon, Catonsville

Timothy Virostek, Wilde Lake

Lavinia Doan, Northern-Calvert

Rachel Yep, Mount Hebron

Joseph Fawley, Brunswick

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad