$20,000 in scholarship money to be awarded at the 54th Scholar Athlete Dinner

73 high school football scholars vie for a honors at the 54th annual awards dinner.

Five high school football players from the Baltimore area will share in $20,000 in scholarship money at the 54th Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner on Wednesday at Martin's West.

The Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame sponsors the event in which five regional winners are selected from 73 nominees from Baltimore City, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford and Howard counties.

Last years winners were Stephen Spanellis (Gilman), Kurt Rawlings (John Carroll), Bryan Costabile (Mount Saint Joseph), Raekwon Wright (Patterson) and Matt Beveridge (Oakdale). Each received a $4,000 scholarship.

Spanellis, now playing at Michigan, went on to be named one of the top five National High School Scholar-Athlete Award winners by the National Football Foundation in October. The offensive lineman was the second straight Gilman player to be named a national winner. Jelani Roberts, a receiver at Northwestern, won in 2015.

In addition to the individual awards, the Greater Baltimore Chapter will also honor the area's best teams Wednesday night.

St. Frances and coach Henry Russell will be presented with the A. Paul Merton Award as the top rated high school program in the Greater Baltimore area, according to The Baltimore Sun. The No. 1 Panthers (10-2) won the first MIAA A Conference tile in program history last fall, going undefeated in the conference.

The Ben Eaton Sr. Championship Award, named in honor of the late Dunbar coach, will be presented to Walkersville and coach Joe Polce. The only program in the Greater Baltimore Chapter area to win a state title last fall, the Lions won the Class 2A championship and finished 14-0. The Lions, from Frederick County, had not won a state title in 29 years.

Following are the nominees for the Scholar Athlete Awards...

William Kilmon, Aberdeen

Avery Groft, Annapolis

William Pritchett, Archbishop Curley

Evan Fochtman, Archbishop Spalding

Keegan O'Donnell, Arundel

Sean Washington, Atholton

Barry Amos, Baltimore Poly

Michael Yetter, Bel Air

Ethan Norman, Boys' Latin

Ryan Keller, Broadneck

Bradley Halley, C. Miilton Wright

BJ Watson, Calvert Hall

Nathan Little, Catoctin

Trey Glover, Catonsville

Owen Marcinek, Centennial

Ryan Pickrel, Century

Melvin Scott III, City

Luke Sturiale, Dulaney

Robert Doetsch, Dundalk

Sean Wynn, Eastern Tech

Uchenna Aduaka, Edgewood

Scott Dettloff, Fallston

Thomas Mahoney, Francis Scott Key

Ryan Claggett, Franklin

William Weinfeld, Gilman

Noah Williamson, Glenelg

Rocklin Curtis, Hammond

Luke Smith, Havre de Grace

Jonathan Marchineck, Hereford

Andrew Chalfant, Howard

Nathan LeBuhn, John Carroll

Corie Adams, Joppatowne

Christopher Greene, Kenwood

James Ellis, Lansdowne

Spencer Kirlin, Liberty

Ethan Cadogan, Long Reach

Trevor Henigan, Loyola Blakefield

Connor O'Donnell, Manchester Valley

Lewis Anania, Marriotts Ridge

Andrew Frailer, McDonogh

Kevin Long, Middletown

Deshawn Owens, Milford Mill

Wesley Norton, Mount Hebron

Aaron Johnson, Mount Saint Joseph

Cole Dickerson, North Harford

Ian Walton, Northeast

Chase DeMaille, Oakdale

Mason Grim, Old Mill

Christopher Ashby, Mount Carmel

Craig Rollins III, Overlea

Zion McFarland, Parkville

Andrew Thompson, Patapsco

Kenny Dantzler, Patterson

Todd Campo, Patterson Mill

Marcus Burgess, Pikesville

Bradley Smith, River Hill

Caleb John, St. Frances

Parker Adams, St. Mary's

William Chizmar, St. Paul's

Zachary Roski, St. Vincent Pallotti

Eric Duguay, Severn

Alexander Rott, Severna Park

A.J. Linn, South Carroll

Brooks Watson, South River

Brody Northrop, Southern

William Chenowith, Sparrows Point

Andrew DiPaula, Towson

David Grimaldi, Urbana

Kyle Daggett, Walkersville

Christopher Bauer, Westminster

Terrence Lyles, Wilde Lake

Tanner Tobias, Winteres Mill

Jarius Wilson, Woodlawn

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad