Gilman's Tim Holley named Ravens Coach of the Week

Gilman coach Tim Holley has been named the final Ravens High School Coach of the Week for this season after guiding the Greyhounds to a rivalry win over McDonogh Saturday that clinched a playoff berth.

The Greyhounds upset then-No. 4 McDonogh, 24-21, in the 102nd rivalry game between the two private schools, a victory that also propelled them to the second-seeded spot in Sunday’s Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference semifinals.

Unranked Gilman scored the first 17 points of the game and held off a second-half McDonogh rally. Brandon Madison scored the game-winning touchdown and Thomas Booker and Bryson Webb had late-game sacks to help secure the victory.

“When our lead was cut to 17-14, our kids didn’t panic,” Holley said in a statement. “We’ve been in a lot of close games this year, with two wins literally coming down to the last play of the game. So, whether we are up or down, we just keep playing.”

The Greyhounds, now ranked No. 13, emerged from a five-way tie for second place in the conference behind No. 1 and undefeated St. Frances to take the second-seeded spot on the final tiebreaker, points scored in conference losses. Gilman scored 83, far more than any other team.

Holley, the longtime Gilman athletic director who took over the football program when the previous coaching staff and many top players departed after the 2015 season, will lead the Greyhounds into Sunday’s 3 p.m. conference semifinal against third-seeded and No. 4-ranked Calvert Hall at CCBC-Essex. The Greyhounds (4-6) won the regular-season meeting, 35-28.

When the season ends, Holley has said he will step down as football coach.

Each Ravens Coach of the Week receives a $2,000 donation to his school’s football program and an award from Ravens coach John Harbaugh. The winners will be invited to the Ravens-Indianapolis Colts game Dec. 23 at M&T Bank Stadium, where one will be named the Ravens High School Coach of the Year.

Holley joins previous weekly winners: Dunbar’s Lawrence Smith; Francis Scott Key’s Josh Rutter, Milford Mill’s Reggie White, St. Frances’ Biff Poggi and Henry Russell, River Hill’s Brian Van Deusen, Harford Tech’s Tim Palmer, Towson’s Ryan Pittillo, Meade’s Albert Jones and Tuscarora’s Vince Ahearn.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad