Offensive Player of the Year

Hakeem Hines, Havre de Grace,, running back

The senior was the go-to guy for Havre de Grace (11-1). Whenever Havre de Grace had trouble on offense, Hines would make a big play to bail out his team.

Follow @SunVarsity on Twitter.

Hines finished with 1,851 yards (with an 8.8 yards-per-carry average) and 17 touchdowns. He could make long runs or he could take a pounding against good defenses and help the Warriors grind things out.

His speed and quickness sparked a Havre de Grace offense that only had problems with one team – Joppatowne. The Mariners shut them out twice (one of the games was overturned when Joppatowne forfeited because of the use of an ineligible player).

Defensive Player of the Year

Dominic Harper, Joppatowne,, defensive back

The senior made big plays in the secondary all season, but none was bigger than what he did when the Mariners beat Havre de Grace in the Class 1A playoffs.

Harper gave Joppatowne the momentum it needed by returning two interceptions for touchdowns. He picked off a Darin Washington pass and returned it 77 yards to give the Mariners a 6-0 lead. That proved crucial because the Warriors had scored on the play before and it was erased on a penalty.

Harper did it again in the fourth quarter, returning an interception 44 yards for a touchdown that helped the Mariners to a 26-0 victory and a spot in the Class 1A state semifinals.

He finished the season with seven interceptions.

Coach of the Year
Keith Rawlings, John Carroll

Rawlings took over this year and made a lot of changes that helped the Patriots jump from 2-9 last year to a 7-4 team that gave lots of teams trouble.

Rawlings used basically the same roster as last year but changed to the run-oriented Navy offense, taking advantage of an undersized but quick offensive line. An offense that couldn't do much last season suddenly was able to do a lot this year.

The Patriots even overcame the loss of quarterback Sammy Von Paris for a few weeks.

Rawlings installed more discipline this season, and the team responded. John Carroll played good football on offense, defense and special teams. The Patriots beat Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association B Conference champion St. Mary's. They will lose some seniors from this year, but Rawlings has installed a strong foundation.

Garrett WeinholdFallstonSr.QB
Darin WashingtonHavre de GraceFresh.QB
Epe HenriquesJoppatowneSoph.RB
Hakeem HinesHavre de GraceSr.RB
David IvoryFallstonSr.RB
Matt BarileFallstonSr.WR
Dylan BurkePatterson MillJr.WR
Roges' ButlerJoppatowneSr.OL
David MillerJoppatowneJr.OL
Josh PhillipsNorth HarfordSr.OL
David SharplessJoppatowneSoph.OL
Eric HartJohn CarrollSr.K
Jules ForneyJoppatowneSr.DL
Rob JohnsonEdgewoodSr.DL
Mike KropkowskiNorth HarfordSr.LB
Jake McGinnisJoppatowneJr.LB
Ethan MillerC.M. WrightSr.LB
Sammy Von ParisJohn CarrollSr.LB
Josh BarbenNorth HarfordSr.DB
Dominic HarperJoppatowneSr.DB
Tony JohnsonFallstonSr.DB
Steve St. ClairJohn CarrollJr.DB
Davonte TaylorHavre de GraceJr.DB
T.J. LivezeyBel AirSr.P
Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.