Boys track and field: Performers to watch

Sun staff

Graham BazellAtholton, distances // Expect Bazell and Joey Thompson of Howard to battle for supremacy in Howard County. The junior is bouncing back from an injury that sidelined him for much of the winter.

Pat BoyleCalvert Hall, field events // The senior has grown into one of the area's top performers in the shot put. He easily won the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association title indoors.

Mason CampbellTowson, distances // The senior has been right near the top among distance runners the past two years and finally broke through this winter. He won the Class 3A 3,200-meter race.

Anthony DrumgooleDigital Harbor, sprints-short distance // The junior helped the Rams win the Class 1A state title indoors.

Dorian JohnsonMount St. Joseph, field events // The senior had a spectacular winter season, winning the MIAA triple jump and helping the Gaels take the team title.

Justin MurdockMeade, sprints // Murdock transferred to Meade from Glen Burnie and made the Mustangs that much tougher. He played a big role in Meade's Class 3A indoor state title.

Shawn MyersPerry Hall, field events // He swept the Baltimore County, regional and state titles in the winter. His vault of 14 feet easily gave him the Class 4A title.

Lee ReynoldsPoly, sprints // His strong performances helped Poly win the Class 2A state title indoors.

Dahmar SmilesMeade, sprints // He's strong in sprints and relays and helped the Mustangs win the Class 3A state title indoors.

Joey ThompsonHoward, distances // Thompson captured the Class 2A state championship in cross country last fall and then won the 1,600 state title indoors.

Other notables // James Allen, Pikesville; Jabulani Blyden, Gilman; Matthew Brinkley, Meade, George Chambers, Archbishop Curley; Mark Cover, Eastern Tech; Angelo Diggs, Digital Harbor; Jermol Dix, Western Tech; Andrew Finlayson, Severna Park; Corey Fuller, Woodlawn; Colin Goodling, Hereford; J.P. Grant, McDonogh; Trevor Keen, Archbishop Spalding; Arthur Leathers, Francis Scott Key; Brandon Morales, Westminster; Craig Morgan, River Hill; Joe Orsulak, Loyola; Duane Parker, Mount St. Joseph; Connor Pencek, Glenelg; Markeith Price, Mount St. Joseph; Lemuel Pridgen, Mount St. Joseph; Terence Robinson, Mount St. Joseph; Anthony Rowe, Calvert Hall; Chris Sheridan, Gilman; Christian Smooth, Annapolis; Zach Sullivan, Archbishop Spalding; Chris Swisko, Calvert Hall; Anya Uzoh, Meade; Zach Weinstein, Mount Hebron.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad