2005 All-Metro Boys Cross Country Teams

Sun staff

Runner of the Year: Matthew Centrowitz, Broadneck

Buzz concerning Eleanor Roosevelt senior Mikias Gelagle's occasional 100-mile-a-week training regimen over the summer reached Centrowitz, but if the junior was supposed to be concerned, he didn't show it. "I think that would injure me more than help me," he said. Centrowitz's sense of what was right for him proved to be pinpoint accurate. Targeting a faster pace rather than longer mileage, he won the Barnhart Memorial Invitational in 15:28.0, breaking by 58 seconds the course record set by Woodlawn's Dwight Parker. A sinus infection relegated Centrowitz to third in the elite division at Bull Run -- a result that he committed to memory. Centrowitz rolled through the postseason, winning back-to-back Anne Arundel County titles (15:56.8), Class 4A East region crowns (15:24.71) and state championships (16:00.28). His time at the state meet was the fastest by a male runner in all four classifications. Centrowitz, who earned All-Metro and Anne Arundel County Runner of the Year honors for the second straight season, is on pace to join Randallstown's Jeff Campbell (1986-1988) and Centennial's Pat Rodrigues (1988-1990) as the only runners to win three straight state crowns.

Coach of the Year:, Whitty Bass, Wilde Lake

With his runners feeling a little anxious before the start of the Class 3A state championships, Bass asked them to stand around him, hold hands, and join him in a rousing rendition of "Kumbaya." Bass' lighthearted demeanor set the tone for a Wildecats squad that lost six of its top seven runners from a team that placed second at the state and Howard County championships last year. Wilde Lake swept the postseason this season, winning the school's first county title since 1997 and first state crown since 1996.

First Team

J.P. Allera, Wilde Lake

The junior never slipped outside the top six in six invitationals and championships. Allera, the lone returnee from last year's varsity squad, was the runner-up at the Class 3A East region championships (17:30.80) and the public schools race at the Meade Autumn Classic (16:53.68). He was also third at the Howard County championships (17:22.20) and fourth at the state meet (17:09.10).

Travis Boccher, Wilde Lake

Trading baseball spikes for running shoes, the senior finished in the top five in six invitationals and championships. Boccher scored triumphs at the Class 3A East region championships (17:29.02) and the public-schools race at the Meade Autumn Classic (16:50.99). Boccher also posted second-place outings at the Howard County (17:21.41) and Class 3A state (17:08.73) championships.

Anders Hulleberg, Park

The junior had three top-four finishes in four invitationals and championships this fall. Hulleberg was fourth in the seeded race at the Harford Invitational (15:58) and the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference championships (16:39). He capped his season by finishing sixth in the large-schools race at the state private schools championships (16:50.04).

Sam Jackson, Gilman

The senior never finished outside the top two this fall. He was second in the private-schools race at the Spiked Shoe Invite (17:23.90) and the A2 division of the Doc Jones Anne Arundel County Invitational (17:20.0). The Baltimore City Runner of the Year staked his claim as the area's best private-schools runner when he outran Archbishop Spalding's Rob Wetzel over the final 800 meters to win the MIAA A Conference title in 16:15.

Matt Llano, Broadneck

The senior earned his second straight All-Metro berth by never falling outside the top nine in all six invitationals and championships. Llano was second to teammate Matthew Centrowitz at the Anne Arundel County (16:38.2) and Class 4A East region (16:00.00) championships. His fourth-place performance at the state meet (16:55.11) helped the No. 2 Bruins retain the state crown.

Dwight Parker, Woodlawn

Despite a truncated season, the junior repeated as the Baltimore County Runner of the Year. Parker scored triumphs at the Baltimore County (16:15.3) and the Class 4A North region (15:46.28) championships for the second year in a row. Parker, who missed the state meet because of a family vacation, was fourth in the elite division at Bull Run (17:00). This is his second straight appearance on the All-Metro team.

Andrew Revelle, Atholton

The junior won six times in eight invitationals and championships this fall. The Howard County Runner of the Year won the Howard County Striders and Westminster invitationals and the Scorpion Crawl. Revelle then swept the postseason, taking titles at the Howard County (17:02.47), Class 2A South region (17:15) and state (16:44.88) championships. His win at the state meet was his second straight triumph.

Ryan Stasiowski, Loyola

The junior, seesawing with teammate Greg Jubb, emerged as the Dons' No. 1 runner toward the end of the season. Stasiowski finished in the top six in three of four invitationals and championships. His best performances were a third-place outing at the MIAA A Conference championships (16:38) and a fifth-place showing at the Barnhart Memorial Invitational (16:35.8).

Rob Wetzel, Archbishop Spalding

The junior registered six top-six finishes in six of seven invitationals and championships. Wetzel's three victories included first-place efforts in the private-schools race at the Spiked Shoe Invite (17:00.40), the A1 division at the Doc Jones Anne Arundel County Invitational (16:50.5) and the private-schools race at the Meade Autumn Classic (17:02.96). Wetzel finished second in 16:22 at the MIAA A Conference championships.

Second Team

Erik Anderson Arch. Curley, junior

Graham Bazell Atholton, freshman

Bryan Cyr Severna Park, senior

Grisha Iventichev Friends, sophomore

Greg Jubb Loyola, junior

Rob Kelvey Westminster, senior

Andrew Mahone Bel Air, junior

Chris Moody South River, junior

Jim Ridder Liberty, senior

Vince Walsh Dulaney, junior

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad