2005 All-Metro Tennis Teams

Sun staff

Boys Player of the Year: Andy Peters, McDonogh

Peters won the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference's No. 1 singles title. The sophomore improved his game this year after winning at No. 3 singles as a freshman.

Girls Player of the Year: Jessica Ahn, C. Milton Wright

Ahn, who won the state doubles championships last year, finished third in the state in singles this year. The junior ended up 20-1 and figures to be one of the state's top players next spring.

Coach of the Year: Peter Griffiths, C. Milton Wright

Griffiths has coached at C. Milton Wright for 20 years, and the Mustangs continued their recent roll, going 13-0 and stretching their winning streak to 78 with five straight Harford County titles.

First team - Boys

Ryan Lissner, Centennial

The sophomore bounced back after losing to Wilde Lake's David Nguyen in the Howard County finals to beat him for third in the state tournament. He led the Eagles to the dual meet county title.

Matt McDaniel, Catonsville

McDaniel, a junior, won his first Baltmore County and second regional championship this season. He finished with a 16-1 overall record.

Roger Torres, C. Milton Wright

The senior won his fourth straight Harford County title and went 20-1 this year, with his only loss coming in the state tournament.

Scott Burtzlaff and Trevor Anderson, River Hill

A combined 31-3 insingles, Burtzlaff, ajunior, and Anderson,a senior, teamed up forpostseason doublesand took the HowardCounty and regionalcrowns before losing inthe state final.

First team - Girls

Ashley Harvey, Catonsville

The senior went 14-2 this season and won her fourth straight Baltimore County title. Headed to Long Island University to play tennis, she finished fourth in the state.

Carly Van Hollen, St. Paul's

The Crusaders' sophomore finished second in the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference.

Annie Wu, Bryn Mawr

The sophomore won the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference singles title, beating St. Paul's Carly Van Hollen after losing to her twice during the regular season.

Alissa Thayer and Melissa Wallace, Westminster

The two seniors knocked off the first-, third- and fourth-seeded doubles teams to win the state title in doubles - Westminster's first in school history.

Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad