Lacrosse Insider College lacrosse news, scores, schedules

Maryland's Megan Whittle named women's Tewaaraton Award finalist

Maryland attacker Megan Whittle was among five women’s lacrosse players named finalists Thursday night for the Tewaaraton Award presented to the best player in the game.

Stony Brook attacker Kylie Ohlmiller and North Carolina midfielder Marie McCool, both finalists last year, were also named finalists along with Boston College attacker Sam Apuzzo and James Madison attacker Kristen Guadian. The award will be presented May 31 at the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington.

The Big Ten Attacker of the Year, Whittle is Maryland’s all-time leading goal scorer and, with 288 career goals, needs just two more to move into sole possession of second place on the all-time NCAA Division I career list. She has led the Terps in scoring all four years and has 74 goals and 86 points this season as the defending national champion Terps earned the No. 1 seed for the NCAA tournament.

She has been on the Tewaaraton watch list every year of her career.

In the Big Ten championship game, Whittle scored a career-high eight goals in a 21-12 win over Penn State to earn tournament Most Valuable Player honors. A first-team All-American as a sophomore and a second-team selection last season, she also plays for England’s national team and was taken fifth in the Women’s Professional Lacrosse League draft Monday night by the Upstate Pride.

If Whittle wins, this would be the seventh straight year a Maryland player has taken home the trophy and the ninth time since Jen Adams won the first Tewaarton in 2001.

Zoe Stukenberg (Marriotts Ridge) won last year. Taylor Cummings (McDonogh) became the only three-time winner from 2014 to 2016. Katie Schwarzmann (Century) won in 2012 and 2013. Terps assistant coach Caitlyn (McFadden) Phipps (Notre Dame Prep) won in 2010.

Two others with local ties have also won the Tewaaraton — Duke’s Katie Chrest Erbe, a Maryvale graduate, in 2005; and UMBC coach Amy (Appelt) Slade at Virginia in 2004.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad