Bradley outfield Mike Tauchman and Redbirds’ ace Chris Razo highlight the 2013 MVC all-conference baseball teams, being tabbed Player and Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Illinois State's Mark Kingston has been named the Dan Callahan Coach of the Year, after leading the Redbirds to their first outright regular-season title since in program history and the top seed in this week's MVC Baseball Championship. Tauchman is Bradley's second-ever Player of the Year, while Razo is the first-ever Redbird to be named Pitcher of the Year. Wichita State reliever Brandon Peterson was named Newcomer of the Year and Bears’ rookie outfielder Tate Matheny earned Freshman of the Year honors. Illinois State's Brett Kay was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year. 

Tauchman, a senior outfielder from Palatine Ill., leads the nation with a .427 batting average, which also ranks as the highest batting average in the MVC since 1984 (.464, Pat Magness, Wichita State). He has tallied 76 hits in 2013, good for third in the league, and his 27 multi-hit games leads the MVC. Tauchman reached base safely in all but four games this season, registering 51 runs and safely stealing 28 (of 29) bases. Tauchman is the second Brave to earn the Valley’s Player of the Year honor, joining Mike Dunne (1984).

Razo, a product of Chillicothe, Ill., leads the league with five complete games, including four in MVC action. He owns a 7-1 record in just nine starts, producing a 1.65 ERA (third-best among starters) with 69 strikeouts. The senior right-hander also owns four saves and has allowed just 56 hits and 18 runs in 76.1 innings pitched.

Peterson, a Savage, Minn. native, and a Des Moines Area Community College transfer, made an immediate impact on the mound for the Shockers, leading the league in saves with nine. In 24 appearances, he owns a 1.24 ERA with 39 strikeouts, tallying a 3-1 record and allowing just 10 runs in 36.1 innings of work. Peterson is the second Shocker to earn the Valley's Newcomer of the Year honor, joining Preston Springer (2010).

Matheny, an outfielder who hails from St. Louis, Mo., has been sensational in his Missouri State debut, leading the Bears with a .342 batting average, which is also tops among all league freshmen (and seventh overall in the MVC). He also ranks in the league’s top 10 in hits (75 – 6th), runs scored (39 – 10th) and total bases (103 – 6th). Matheny registered a hit in 12-straight games earlier this season, marking the third separate hit streak of at least 10 hits this season. He has recorded at least one hit in 43 of 51 games this season and his 24 multi-hit games rank second in the league. Matheny is the seventh Missouri State player to earn the league's Freshman of the Year honor.

Kay, a native of Arlington Heights, Ill., earns the league's second Defensive Player of the Year award. With incredible range in the field, Kay owns a .972 fielding percentage with 89 putouts and a league-high 188 assists. He also ranks tied for third in the league in fielding double plays (36). Kay is the first Redbird to earn the league’s Defensive Player of the Year honor.

Kingston, now in his fourth season as head coach of the Illinois State baseball squad, led his squad to its first outright regular-season MVC title (were also co-champions in 2010, Kingston’s first year at Illinois State). The Redbirds 16-5 MVC record is the best in program history since the league started the eight-team, three-game series format, while the 36 total wins also match Kingston’s highest win total since coming to Illinois State. In four seasons under Kingston, the Redbirds have compiled a 51-25 (.671) record in league action, owning the second best league winning percentage among active Valley coaches.

Picked to finish third in the preseason poll, Illinois State took home its second regular-season crown (first outright), earning the top seed in this week’s MVC Baseball Championship.

Kingston earns his second Coach of the Year honor (also won in 2010), and is the only Illinois State skipper to ever win Coach of the Year honors.

Regular-season champion and top-seeded Illinois State placed a tremendous eight players on the all-conference first team, in Kyle Stanton (1B), Brett Kay (SS), Zac Johnson (3B), Mike Hollenbeck (C), Eric Aguilera (OF), Chris Razo (SP), Dan Savas (SP) and Jeremy Rhoades (RP). League runner-up Wichita State had two first-team honorees, including Tyler Baker (UT) and Brandon Peterson (RP), as did Missouri State and Bradley. The Bears honorees included Eric Cheray (2B) and Nick Petree (SP), while the Braves' honors go to Greg Partyka (DH) and Mike Tauchman (OF). Evansville's Kevin Kaczmarski rounds out the list of first team accolades.

Featured on the second team are three Shockers, including Casey Gillaspie (1B), Garrett Bayliff (OF) and Cale Elam (SP), three Purple Aces, in Chris Pearson (C), Kyle Lloyd (SP) and Jacob Naumann (RP) and three Salukis, including Austin Montgomerey (UT), Cody Forsythe (SP) and Todd Eaton (RP). Two Bluejays, including Jake Peter (2B) and Alex Staehely (SS), two Bears, in Keened Maddox (OF) and Tate Matheny (OF), as well as two Sycamores, in Koby Kraemer (3B) and Sean Manaea (SP) round out the members of the 2013 second team.

An additional 13 players were honored as part of the honorable mention all-conference team, as student-athletes must receive at least two votes to be named as honorable mention.

A nine-member all-defensive team was also named for the second time in league history.

All-conference honors and specialty awards are voted on by the league’s eight head baseball coaches.

2013 MVC Baseball All-Conference First Team 

Pos.  Name, School 


Hometown (Previous School)
1B  Kyle Stanton, Illinois State


Fairview Heights, Ill. (O'Fallon Township/SWIC)
2B  Eric Cheray, Missouri State


Topeka, Kan. (Seaman)
SS  Brett Kay, Illinois State


Arlington Heights, Ill. (St. Viator)
3B  Zac Johnson, Illinois State*


Bloomington, Ill. (Normal Community/Heartland CC)
Mike Hollenbeck, Illinois State


Joliet, Ill. (Joliet Township)
UT  Tyler Baker, Wichita State


Topeka, Kan. (Shawnee Heights)
DH  Greg Partyka, Bradley


Bartlett, Ill. (Bartlett)
OF  Eric Aguilera, Illinois State*


Cary, Ill. (Cary-Grove/Heartland CC)
OF  Kevin Kaczmarski, Evansville%


Cary, Ill. (Prairie Ridge)
OF  Mike Tauchman, Bradley+#


Palatine, Ill. (William Fremd) 
SP  Nick Petree, Missouri State*$#&


Clinton, Mo. (Clinton)
SP  Chris Razo, Illinois State


Chillicothe, Ill. (Illinois Valley Central/Heartland CC)
SP  Dan Savas, Illinois State


Rosemont, Ill. (Leyden)
RP  Brandon Peterson, Wichita State


Savage, Minn. (Burnsville/Des Moines Area CC) 
RP  Jeremy Rhoades, Illinois State


Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton Warrenville South)

*2012 First Team; %2012 Second Team; +2012 Honorable Mention; $2012 Pitcher of the Year; #2011 Second Team;
&2011 Freshman of the Year

Joe Carter Player of the Year:
Mike Tauchman, Bradley

Pitcher of the Year:
Chris Razo, Illinois State

Newcomer of the Year:
Brandon Peterson, Wichita State

Freshman of the Year:
Tate Matheny, Missouri State

Defensive Player of ther Year:
Brett Kay, Illinois State

Dan Callahan Coach of the Year:
Mark Kingston, Illinois State