OUTLOOK: The Flyers' fourth consecutive 20-plus-victory season, but the best team in Purnell's nine years. Dayton beat Cincinnati and Marquette, played Duke tough on the road and won A-10 tournament. Only A-10 regular-season losses were to Xavier. Same starting five every game. Marshall a quality PG who rarely turns the ball over.

No. 5 WISCONSIN (22-7)

NCAA HISTORY: Ninth appearance, fifth straight. Two Final Fours, title in 1941. Lost to Maryland last year in second round.
COACH: Bo Ryan (1-1 in NCAA).
STARTERS: F Mike Wilkinson, F Alando Tucker, G Freddie Owens, G Kirk Penney, G Devin Harris.
OUTLOOK: After 55 years without a Big Ten title, the Badgers have won two consecutive regular seasons crowns, albeit in a down cycle for the conference. Penney is a two-time, first-team all-league player with Final Four experience. Badgers are stingy on defense but have no notable non-league wins and no starter taller than 6-feet-5. Lost in quarters of Big Ten tournament.

No. 6 MISSOURI (21-10)

NCAA HISTORY: 21st appearance, fifth straight. No Final Fours. Lost to Oklahoma last year in West final.
COACH: Quin Snyder (4-3 in NCAA).
STARTERS: F Travon Bryant, C Arthur Johnson, G Rickey Paulding, G Ricky Clemons, G Jimmy McKinney.
OUTLOOK: Veterans Paulding and Johnson and junior college transfer Clemons average more than 16 points apiece. Snyder is in his fourth NCAA in as many seasons as a coach. But don't expect a repeat of last season's surprising run to the West Regional final. Tigers have little depth and defeated no one of note outside the Big 12.

No. 7 INDIANA (20-12)

NCAA HISTORY: 32nd appearance, 18th straight. Eight Final Fours, five titles, most recent in 1987. Lost to Maryland last year in title game.
COACH: Mike Davis (5-2 in NCAA).
STARTERS: F Jeff Newton, C George Leach, G Tom Coverdale, G Bracey Wright, G Marshall Strickland.
OUTLOOK: An 8-0 start that included conquests of Gonzaga and Maryland stamped the Hoosiers as national contenders. But they faded during Big Ten play, leaving too large a load for freshman Wright, IU's leading scorer. Moving senior F Kyle Hornsby from starter to sixth man seemed to energize IU late in regular season and in the Big Ten tournament.

No. 8 OREGON (23-9)

NCAA HISTORY: Eighth appearance, second straight. One Final Four, champ of first tournament (1939). Lost to Kansas last year in Midwest final.
COACH: Ernie Kent (3-3 in NCAA).
STARTERS: F Robert Johnson, F Luke Jackson, C Brian Helquist, G Luke Ridnour, G James Davis.