At Navy, she continues to think outside the box. She still looks within the sport for new drills and new stick skills, but she'll watch a football practice or a soccer practice to see what she can borrow to improve her team's fitness.

"I love putting the pieces together. That's what I love the most," Timchal said. "It's inspiring when you do see players get better. You place demands on players and they rise to the occasion, but, most importantly, in the end you really want them to do it because they love to do it."


Division I women's lacrosse wins


1.Cindy Timchal/Northwestern, Maryland, Navy/1982-2012/399-106/

2. Chris Sailer/Princeton/1987-2012/315-119/

3. Tracy Coyne/Denison, Roanoke, Notre Dame/1988-2011/261-124/

4. Carol Kleinfelder/Harvard/1980-2003/259-130/

5. Julie Myers/Virginia/1996-2012/237-85/


College lacrosse wins

Coach/Current School/Gender/Wins/

1.Cindy Timchal/Navy/Division I women/399

2. Jim Berkman/Salisbury/Division III men/393

3. Sharon Pfluger/The College of New Jersey/Division III women/388

4. Pat Geonovese/William Smith/Division III women/376

5. Missy Foote/Middlebury/Division III women/361

6. Hank Janczyk/Gettysburg/Division III men/359

*All coaches are active

  • Text TERPS to 70701 to get Baltimore Sun Terps sports text alerts