4. Thanks to Andy MacPhail and Dan Duquette, the Orioles are stocked with pitching depth.

The Orioles may not have an upper-echelon ace like a <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010341" title="David Price" href="/topic/sports/baseball/david-price-PESPT000010341.topic">David Price</a> or a <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT006420" title="C.C. Sabathia" href="/topic/sports/baseball/c.c.-sabathia-PESPT006420.topic">CC Sabathia</a>, but <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010090" title="Jason Hammel" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jason-hammel-PESPT000010090.topic">Jason Hammel</a>, Miguel Gonzalez and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0015157" title="Wei-Yin Chen" href="/topic/sports/baseball/wei-yin-chen-PESPT0015157.topic">Wei-Yin Chen</a> pitched well last season. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010460" title="Chris Tillman" href="/topic/sports/baseball/chris-tillman-PESPT000010460.topic">Chris Tillman</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009873" title="Jake Arrieta" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jake-arrieta-PESPT000009873.topic">Jake Arrieta</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008616" title="Brian Matusz" href="/topic/sports/baseball/brian-matusz-PESPT000008616.topic">Brian Matusz</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000009933" title="Zach Britton" href="/topic/sports/baseball/zach-britton-PESPT0000009933.topic">Zach Britton</a> have disappointed with inconsistency, but they are still relatively young and could still figure it out as starters. And then there are top pitching prospects <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000011569" title="Dylan Bundy" href="/topic/sports/baseball/dylan-bundy-PESPT000011569.topic">Dylan Bundy</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0015801" title="Kevin Gausman" href="/topic/sports/baseball/kevin-gausman-PESPT0015801.topic">Kevin Gausman</a>, who should wind up at <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000207" title="Oriole Park at Camden Yards" href="/topic/sports/baseball/oriole-park-at-camden-yards-PLCUL000207.topic">Camden Yards</a> by summer's end. That depth will be a huge asset for the Orioles.

( Baltimore Sun photos )

The Orioles may not have an upper-echelon ace like a David Price or a CC Sabathia, but Jason Hammel, Miguel Gonzalez and Wei-Yin Chen pitched well last season. Chris Tillman, Jake Arrieta, Brian Matusz and Zach Britton have disappointed with inconsistency, but they are still relatively young and could still figure it out as starters. And then there are top pitching prospects Dylan Bundy and Kevin Gausman, who should wind up at Camden Yards by summer's end. That depth will be a huge asset for the Orioles.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

ABOUT THE BLOGGERS


Jon Meoli took over as Sports Blitz's lead blogger in April 2014. He joined the company as a reporter for the Towson Times in June 2011, after his graduation from Loyola University.

Other sports reporters and editors also occasionally contribute to The Blitz with their takes on the area sports scene.

PHOTO GALLERIES

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps