Summer Savings! Get unlimited digital access for 13 weeks for $13.

Baltimore Sports Blitz

Sports Baltimore Sports Blitz

Loyola officially joins Patriot League, ACC hits New York City

In honor of Loyola joining the Patriot League, City Council president Bernard C.“Jack” Young declared Monday to be Patriot League Day in Baltimore.

Loyola and Boston University are the two teams joining the Patriot League this season, expanding the conference to 10 teams. Loyola's move was announced Aug.29.

Similar announcements were happening Monday in the Atlantic Coast Conference.

The city of Pittsburgh declared Monday University of Pittsburgh Atlantic Coast Conference Day, with the Panthers officially joining the ACC. The ACC also added Notre Dame — for every sport but football — and Syracuse for the 2013 season. Louisville will join in 2014.

And now that the Big East of old is officially dissolved, the ACC is eyeing one of its bastions in New York.

#ACCtakesNYC is the hashtag the ACC is trying to get trending on Twitter, and the conference hosted a series of events in New York to introduce the new league.

All 15 team mascots raced up to the top of the Empire State Building on Monday morning, and ACC officials rang the closing bell at the NASDAQ stock exchange in the city that afternoon.

Copyright © 2015, The Baltimore Sun
Related Content
  • Loyola will leave MAAC for Patriot League starting in 2013-14

    Loyola will leave MAAC for Patriot League starting in 2013-14

    Coming off its most successful athletic year in school history, Loyola announced Wednesday that it will be leaving the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference after more than 20 years to join the Patriot League beginning in 2013-14.

  • MLB power rankings for July 28

    MLB power rankings for July 28

    With the trade deadline looming, these Sports Blitz power rankings double as a list of teams who will be buying at the deadline to solidify their title chances. Everyone on the outside is just playing catch-up to teams here, some of whom — like the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros — have already...