Melvin Mora, John Lowenstein and Gary Roenicke to be enshrined in Orioles Hall of Fame

Players Melvin Mora, John Lowenstein and Gary Roenicke will be inducted into the Orioles Hall of Fame.

Former Orioles third baseman Melvin Mora and outfielders John Lowenstein and Gary Roenicke have been selected for enshrinement in the Orioles Hall of Fame, the club announced on Monday.

Mora was elected by a vote of media members, club officials and Orioles Advocates. Lowenstein and Roenicke were selected by the veteran’s committee.

Longtime Orioles scout Fred Uhlman Sr. will be inducted as this year’s Herb Armstrong Award winner.

Former Orioles first baseman Rafael Palmeiro was also on the ballot, but was not voted in.

All four will be honored at a luncheon at Oriole Park on Aug. 14 at noon. Lowenstein will not be able to attend due to a previous engagement.

A two-time All-Star, Mora spent parts of 10 seasons with the Orioles, batting .270 with a .350 on-base percentage and .431 slugging percentage. He is also among the franchise’s career leader in doubles (eighth, 252), RBIs (eighth, 662), home runs (10th, 158), runs (10th, 709) and total bases (10th, 2,073).

His .340 batting average in 2004 is the Orioles’ best single-season mark. He led the American League in in on-base percentage (.419) that season and had career highs in home runs (27) and RBIs (104).

His 808 games at third base trail only Brooks Robinson on the club’s all-time list.

Lowenstein and Roenicke split playing time with the Orioles in left field from 1979 to 1985. Both were members of the Orioles’ 1983 World Series championship team and combined for 34 homers and 124 RBIs that year.

In their first season in left, they combined for 36 home runs and 98 RBIs, helping the Orioles win the 1979 AL pennant. Their best season came in 1982, when they combined for 45 home runs and drove in 140 runs as the club fell one game short of winning the AL East title.

Before retiring this year, Uhlman spent 46 years in professional scouting, including the last three decades with the Orioles. He joined the Orioles as scouting director in January of 1985 and later served as a special assistant and pro scout.

He also established the Orioles’ first baseball academies in the Dominican Republic and Venezuela, and was responsible for signing Jeff Ballard, Steve Finley, Gregg Olson, Arthur Rhodes and David Segui.

Copyright © 2017, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad

Orioles Hall of Fame inductees

Year     Player

1977    Brooks Robinson, Frank Robinson

1978    Dave McNally

1979    Boog Powell

1980    No Inductees

1981    Gus Triandos

1982    LuÍs Aparicio, Mike Cuellar

1983    Mark Belanger, Earl Weaver

1984    Paul Blair, Paul Richards

1985    Milt Pappas

1986    Jim Palmer, Ken Singleton

1987    Al Bumbry

1988    Steve Barber

1989    Jim Gentile, Dick Hall, Stu Miller

1990    Hank Bauer, Scott McGregor

1991    Hal Brown

1992    Gene Woodling

1993    Don Buford

1994    Mike Flanagan

1995    George Bamberger, Chuck Thompson*

1996    Jerry Hoffberger*, Billy Hunter, Cal Ripken, Sr.

1997    Harry Dalton*, Rick Dempsey, Davey Johnson

1998    Bobby Grich, Lee MacPhail*, Lee May

1999    Frank Cashen*, Eddie Murray

2000    Jack Dunn III*, Tippy Martinez, Eddie Watt

2001    Mike Boddicker, Elrod Hendricks, Hank Peters*

2002    Rex Barney*, Dennis Martinez, Hoyt Wilhelm

2003    Bob Brown*, Cal Ripken, Jr.

2004    Brady Anderson, Ernie Tyler*

2005    No inductees

2006    Doug DeCinces, Chris Hoiles, Ralph Salvon*, Eddie Weidner*

2007    B.J. Surhoff, Bill O'Donnell*

2008    William "Wild Bill" Hagy (Wild Bill Hagy Award), Gregg Olson, Phil Itzoe*

2009    Harold Baines, Julie Wagner*

2010    Lenny Johnston*, Johnny Oates, Ray Miller

2011    Richie Bancells*, Mike Bordick

2012    Rich Dauer, Mike Mussina, Walter Youse*

2013    Roberto Alomar, Don Pries*

2014    No inductees

2015     Melvin Mora, John Lowenstein, Gary Roenicke