Save 75% - Only $49.99 for 1 full year! digitalPLUS subscription offer ends 12/1

Maryland wins its first men's basketball national championship (2002)

Maryland TerrapinsGary WilliamsNCAABrenda Frese
Gary Williams and a team led by Juan Dixon, Lonny Baxter and Steve Blake reached the Final Four for the second straight year and defeated Indiana to win the NCAA title. Four years later, Brenda Frese would lead the Terps women to their first national championship. Baltimore Sun photo by Lloyd Fox