Become a digitalPLUS subscriber. 99¢ for 4 weeks.

Variety Announces 10 Screenwriters to Watch 2013 Edition

Seth RogenThis Is the EndDanny StrongStar Trek (movie, 2009)Channing TatumKen DaurioPrecious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (movie)

Variety has chosen its 10 Screenwriters to Watch for 2013.

They are: Ned Benson, Lucinda Coxon, Andrew Dodge, Kieran Fitzgerald, Morgan Davis Foehl, Jennifer Lee, Barbara Marshall, Elan Mastai, Michael Mitnick and Jonathan Tropper.

The group will be profiled in the Nov. 26 issue of Variety and honored with a panel and banquet at the Whistler Film Festival in Whistler, Canada, on Dec. 7.

The 10 to Watch series spotlights emerging writers, actors, producers, directors, comics and cinematographers. The honorees are selected by a team of Variety editors, critics and reporters.

Writers who have appeared on the 10 to Watch list in years past include Oscar winners Geoffrey Fletcher ("Precious"), Charlie Kaufman ("Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind") and Julian Fellowes ("Gosford Park"); Emmy winner Lena Dunham ("Girls"), Evan Goldberg & Seth Rogen ("This Is the End"), Ken Daurio & Cinco Paul ("Despicable Me" 1 & 2), Alex Kurtzman & Roberto Orci ("Star Trek") and Danny Strong ("Lee Daniels' The Butler").

Related storiesPalm Springs Fest Fetes Steve McQueenScarlett Johansson: Why Oscar Voters Need to Consider 'Her' PerformanceChanning Tatum, Ellen DeGeneres Tout Team Oscar Contest 2013 Variety Media, LLC, a subsidiary of Penske Business Media; Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC

Copyright © 2014, The Baltimore Sun