'We Are the World'

On Jan. 28, 1985, the world's biggest names in pop, rock, soul and country -- including <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003757" title="Bruce Springsteen" href="/topic/entertainment/music/bruce-springsteen-PECLB003757.topic">Bruce Springsteen</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000944" title="Ray Charles" href="/topic/entertainment/music/ray-charles-PECLB000944.topic">Ray Charles</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001512" title="Bob Dylan" href="/topic/entertainment/music/bob-dylan-PECLB001512.topic">Bob Dylan</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003579" title="Diana Ross" href="/topic/entertainment/music/diana-ross-PECLB003579.topic">Diana Ross</a> -- got together to record the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002548" title="Michael Jackson" href="/topic/entertainment/music/michael-jackson-PECLB002548.topic">Michael Jackson</a>-<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003535" title="Lionel Richie" href="/topic/entertainment/music/lionel-richie-PECLB003535.topic">Lionel Richie</a>-penned charity single "We Are the World." Released a month and a half later under the group name USA for Africa, the song went on to sell more than 10 million copies, ensuring that no celebrity would ever again doubt his or her power to change, if not save, the world. With a song. An excruciatingly irritating song. (Many of the artists who contributed to "We Are the World" redeemed themselves on July 13, when they participated in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001899" title="Bob Geldof" href="/topic/entertainment/music/bob-geldof-PECLB001899.topic">Bob Geldof</a>'s Live Aid concerts, which took place simultaneously at London's Wembley Stadium and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100101023010000" title="Philadelphia (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)" href="/topic/us/pennsylvania/philadelphia-county/philadelphia-%28philadelphia-pennsylvania%29-PLGEO100101023010000.topic">Philadelphia</a>'s JFK Stadium. It rocked.)
sfl-md-1985-music20120203095657

( Frank Micelotta, Getty Images / July 13, 1985 )

On Jan. 28, 1985, the world's biggest names in pop, rock, soul and country -- including Bruce Springsteen, Ray Charles, Bob Dylan and Diana Ross -- got together to record the Michael Jackson-Lionel Richie-penned charity single "We Are the World." Released a month and a half later under the group name USA for Africa, the song went on to sell more than 10 million copies, ensuring that no celebrity would ever again doubt his or her power to change, if not save, the world. With a song. An excruciatingly irritating song. (Many of the artists who contributed to "We Are the World" redeemed themselves on July 13, when they participated in Bob Geldof's Live Aid concerts, which took place simultaneously at London's Wembley Stadium and Philadelphia's JFK Stadium. It rocked.)

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery