When the Ravens run

<p><a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000086232" title="Ray Rice" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-rice-PESPT0000086232.topic">Ray Rice</a> (30 carries, 89 yards) has been slowed by a hip injury. That's meant he hasn't been nearly as dangerous as previous seasons. The Dolphins are tough against the run up the middle because tackles <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012029" title="Paul Soliai " href="/topic/sports/football/paul-soliai--PESPT0012029.topic">Paul Soliai</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012031" title="Jared Odrick " href="/topic/sports/football/jared-odrick--PESPT0012031.topic">Jared Odrick</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012027" title="Randy Starks " href="/topic/sports/football/randy-starks--PESPT0012027.topic">Randy Starks</a> plug the gaps. The edge is risky because ends Cam Wake and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00016393" title="Derrick Shelby" href="/topic/sports/football/derrick-shelby-PESPT00016393.topic">Derrick Shelby</a> do well. Look for the Ravens to run at defensive end <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0015004" title="Olivier Vernon" href="/topic/sports/football/olivier-vernon-PESPT0015004.topic">Olivier Vernon</a>, however. The Dolphins are ninth in rushing defense but they allow 4.2 yards per carry, ninth-most. Still, the Ravens are in trouble.</p>
<p><strong>Edge: Dolphins</strong></p>
sfl-dolphins-ravens-edges-pg-20131005-004

( October 5, 2013 )

Ray Rice (30 carries, 89 yards) has been slowed by a hip injury. That's meant he hasn't been nearly as dangerous as previous seasons. The Dolphins are tough against the run up the middle because tackles Paul Soliai, Jared Odrick and Randy Starks plug the gaps. The edge is risky because ends Cam Wake and Derrick Shelby do well. Look for the Ravens to run at defensive end Olivier Vernon, however. The Dolphins are ninth in rushing defense but they allow 4.2 yards per carry, ninth-most. Still, the Ravens are in trouble.

Edge: Dolphins

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun