Lacrosse: Lutherville captures Beach Lax Festival crown

The number of teams competing in the Beach Lacrosse Festival jumped out to 9-10 Lutherville coach Robin Lowe.

Two years ago, when the Leprechauns won the championship in the 7-8 Tyker Division, there were only five other teams.

"It was really competitive," Lowe said of this year's event. "There were 20 teams."

Tough competition or not, Lutherville captured another title and it came in the Lightening Division.

The Lightening — which are part of the Lutherville Timonium Recreation Council — thumped the Catonsville A team, 10-3, behind the performances of Riley Hartman (2 goals), Paige Wilkinson (2 goals) and Lowe's daughter Sydney (4 assists).

Ellie Curry, Shelton Sawers and Danielle Jacobstein also had key goals for a team that went a perfect 8-0.

"It was definitely not expected," coach Lowe said of the title. "I thought we would be a strong competitor, but I didn't expect us to do as well as we did."

"I think Catonsville was exhausted from their semifinal game," she added. "They went to overtime. They were a little bit flat and that helped us."

Goalie Julia Egan also helped the Leprechauns to the crown by making five saves, but the effort of Hartman stood out even more to Lowe.

"She really stepped up and had a fabulous tournament," the coach said.

Beating Hereford's Valley Girls white team, 9-3, in the semifinals, also meant a lot to Lutherville's players. The Valley Girls had topped the Leprechauns during the regular season.

"I think at that point of the tournament our girls were playing with such confidence," Lowe said. "They were really determined in the semifinal game not to let Hereford beat us. They really stepped up to the challenge."

Lowe praised the play of defenders of Emily Persinger and Sawers in the semifinal game.

"Those two girls played phenomenal defense against their strongest player," Lowe said. "They really created offense by their defense."

Anna Lopez, Kristina lysik, Megan Thomas, Deirdre Powell and were members of the title-winning team.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad