Don’t miss the ultimate foodie event, The Baltimore Sun's Secret Supper

Head of the Class: Owings Mills High School students in robotics event

Baltimore County Public Schools' VEX Robotics Competition was held on Feb. 25 at Sollers Point Technical High School. Fifty-one teams from 18 middle and high schools participated. Students from Owings Mills High School in attendance were Brianna Friedman, Ashton Gaines, John Mallari, Paul Raynes, Garrett Surber and Antonio Winn.

Alexander Grasu, of Reisterstown, has been named to the fall 2011 dean's list at University of the Sciences, Philadelphia, Pa.

Kelsey Poisson, of Reisterstown, and Ashley Snelling, of Owings Mills, have been named to the Cornell University College of Arts and Sciences' dean's list for fall 2011.

Ashley Wetzel, of Reisterstown, and Kathryn David, of Pikesville are recipients of the dean's award for academic excellence during the 2011 fall term at Colgate University, Hamilton, NY.

Alexander Neumeier, of Woodbine, and Michael Neumeier, of Owings Mills, have been named to the president's list, and Emerson Koerber, of Reisterstown, has been named to the dean's list at Randolph Macon Academy, Front Royal, Va.

Ethan Schwartz, of Owings Mills, and Tzu- Yu Liu, of Bonnie Ridge, have been named to the 2011 fall deans list at Emory College, Atlanta, Ga.

Blake Leibowitz, of Owings Mills, received a Bachelor of Science from Emory College of Emory University in Atlanta, Ga., in December 2011. He was also named to the fall 2011 dean's list.

Jennifer Ro, of Pikesville, was named to the honor list of Oxford College, the two-year liberal arts division of Emory University located in Oxford, Ga., for the 2011 fall semester.

Hayley Hassan, of Owings Mills, received the Political Science Department Award At Notre Dame of Maryland's 2012 Notre Dame Day Celebration.

Dakota Boodhoo, of Owings Mills, has been named to the fall 2011 dean's list at Frostburg State University, Frostburg.

The following students from Frostburg State University, Frostburg received degrees in December.

Felicia Jones, of Reisterstown, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration; Jerome Pickens, of Owings Mills, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education; Jimmien Strong, of Pikesville, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Liberal Studies; and Emmanuel Tamajong, of Owings Mills, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Studies.

David Narrow, of Owings Mills, has been named to the fall 2011 dean's list at University of Rochester, Rochester, N.Y.

The following students from Franklin High School received awards at the 2012 Baltimore Science Fair, held March 24–25, at Towson University.

Keenan Albee recieved the U.S. Army certificate for outstanding exhibits with respect to scientific and engineering excellence and Rebecca Gross received the AAIA High School 1st Place, ASM Materials Education Foundation Most Outstanding Exhibit in Materials Science Award, American Society for Quality 1st Place Division 1 Award, Clean Air Partners Air Quality Award on behalf of the Metropolitan Baltimore and Washington Council of Governments, National Space Society Award and U.S. Office of Naval Research Navy Senior Award.

Jonathan Hettleman, Ioan Lina, Nir Rattner, Jeremy Vidal, Susan Yaster, Taylor Barfield, and Alexander Dash, of Pikesville, and Wallace Feng and Ron Friedman, of Owings Mills, were named to the dean's list for the fall 2011 semester at Johns Hopkins University.

The Baltimore County Reading Council announced the winners of its 2011–2012 Young Authors' Contest.

Entries were judged on ideas and development, organization, voice, word choice, sentence fluency, presentation and correct grammar. Students from the local area include the following.

Grade 3 Short Story — Julia Budlow, Chatsworth School, second place.

Grade 4 Short Story — Adjoa Baidoo, Chatsworth Elementary School, second place.

Grade 7 Poem — Vanessa William, Southwest Academy, first place.

Grade 8 Poem — Danielle Nicholson, Southwest Academy, first place and Jade D. Purcell, Southwest Academy, second place.

Grade 8 Short Story — Mahidul Islam, Southwest Academy, third place.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad