Russett: Sharks come away with 7 triple winners at meet with Neptunes

Congratulations to the Russett Sharks who swam July 7 against the Northridge Neptunes in Bowie, and won by a score of 320 to 251. With another win under their belt, the Russett Sharks improved to 3-0 in their division and 4-0 overall.

Triple winners for the Sharks are as follows: Dominic Kazzi, boys 8 and under freestyle, breaststroke and backstroke; Madewa Adeyemo, boys 10 and under butterfly and freestyle, and 9-10 backstroke; Tyler Reyda, boys 13-14 freestyle, breaststroke and individual medley; Tomisin Sobande, girls 8 and under freestyle, breaststroke and backstroke; Simone DeSouza, girls 11-12 butterfly, freestyle and backstroke; Paris Hicks, girls 13-14 freestyle, breaststroke and backstroke; and Taylor Hicks, girls 15-18 butterfly, freestyle and breaststroke.

Along with that, the Sharks had one double winner, Lauren Ritter, in girls 13-14 butterfly and individual medley. Russett team records were broken by Tavon Thompson in 11-12 boys 50 breaststroke and in the 8 and under freestyle relay by the team of Kylie Ritter, Miles Scott, Tomison Sobande and Dominic Kazzi.

The Russett Sharks' next swim meet will be held on Saturday, July 14 at the Russett Pool Complex against the Roger Carter Seals. Let's all come out and show our support. Go Sharks!

On July 5, three members of the Board of Education of Anne Arundel County who were appointed and reappointed by Gov. Martin O'Malleywere sworn-in at the county courthouse in Annapolis. They are: Patricia Nalley, of Annapolis, reappointed to a second five-year term as an at-large member, previously served as board president; Stacy Korbelak, of Odenton, appointed to a five-year term representing District 21 and succeeds Russett resident Eugene Peterson, who recently completed his second five-year term; and Nicholas Lefavor, of Crownsville, a senior at Old Mill High School appointed as the 39th student member, succeeding Jillian Buck, of South River High School. Anne Arundel County's student member of the Board of Education is the only one in the nation serving on a local board of education who has full voting rights. All three members will take part at the first meeting of the 2012-2013 school year scheduled for Wednesday, July 11.

Go to for additional 2012-2013 school year information. Congratulations to everyone!

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad