Swimming: Five Laurel-area teams splash to victory

Although a new season began June 16 in the Prince-Mont Swim League, some things never change for the Russett Sharks.

The west Anne Arundel County club beat host West Laurel, 287-279, in a non-division matchup of local teams.

Russett, which improved to 30-7 in dual meets since the beginning of the 2004 season, returns to Division D division this year, while West Laurel enters Division C after a 2-3 showing in Division B level last year.

The Sharks were 5-0 last year and have not lost a dual meet since the 2010 season, when Russett was 3-2.

Triple winners for Russett against West Laurel were Madewa Adeyemo (boys 10-U butterfly, 9-10 freestyle, 9-10 backstroke); Tyler Reyda (boys 13-14 free, breaststroke, individual medley); Taylor Hicks (girls 15-18 fly, breast, IM) and Simone DeSouza (girls 11-12 fly, free, back).

Hicks is a standout at Elizabeth Seton High in Bladensburg, while Reyda is a rising sophomore at Meade High.

Double winners for the Sharks were Dominic Kazzi (boys U-8 free, back), Tomisin Sobande (U-8 girls breast, back) and Meade High graduate Alex Cartron (boys 15-18 breast, back).

The Sharks have posted a mark of .500 or better every year since 2004, when the team was 2-2 in Division G.

The club moved to Division F for the 2007 season after posting a 5-0 the previous year. Russett jumped to Division E (4-0) in 2008 and then made the move to the D in 2009 (5-0) under coach Vanessa Cox, who has been at the helm since 1999.

Triple winners for West Laurel were Lee Friedman (15-18 fly, free, IM) and Henry Buda (11-12 free, back, IM).

In other meets involving local teams on June 16, host West Arundel beat Marlton, 312-250; Laurel City topped Prince George's Council of College Park, 284-235; Silver Spring Swim Team, based in Laurel, downed Belair, 319-232; and Montpelier swam past Cheverly, 293-270.

"It was a great way to start the season," said veteran West Arundel coach John Venit. "They beat us by 25 points last year."

West Arundel lost just two standouts from last year's squad due to age restrictions. Moreover, the 2012 team will only graduate three swimmers.

Triple winners for West Arundel were Michael Venit (U-8 free, breast, back), Peter Moyer (13-14 fly, back, IM), Andrea Sturgis (13-14 fly, free, IM), Ryan Webb (15-18 fly, breast, IM) and Kellianne Venit (15-18, free, breast, IM).

Moyer is a rising sophomore at St. Vincent Pallotti High of Laurel while Webb is a rising sophomore at Reservoir High in Howard County. Venit is a rising junior at Archbishop Spalding in Severn.

Pallotti grad Andria Moyer, a longtime West Arundel member in her last season with the club said that "I think we have a pretty good chance" of winning the division." Moyer plans to compete on the women's swim team at Division III Salisbury University as a freshman.

Double winners for West Arundel were Pari Smith (U-8 free, breast), Jay Venit (13-14 free, breast) and Colette Pierce (13-14 breast, back). Michael Venit set a team record in the U-8 back and Webb set marks in the 15-18 breast and IM. Jay Venit is a rising freshman at Spalding while Pierce is a rising freshman at Meade High.

Triple winners for Montpelier were Trey Beam (U-8 free, breast and back); Danielle Collman (U-10 fly, free and back); Frankie Spitza (11-12 fly, breast, IM); Carolyn Sutton (13-14 fly, free, IM) and Nick Mills (15-18 breast, back, IM).

Triple winners for Laurel City were Ava Hehir-Keys (U-8 girls free, breast, back); her sister, Eanna Hehir-Keys (13-14 butterfly, breast, IM); and Anthony Campos (U-8 free, breast, back).

West Arundel was 3-2 in Division C last year while Laurel City was 2-2 in Division F. Montpelier was 1-4 in Division C and Silver Spring was 0-5 in Division A.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad