Ice hockey: Howard County All-Stars

It's been a month and a half since Atholton won its first Maryland Student Hockey League title.

And while ice hockey is not recognized as a sanctioned varsity sport by the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association, Howard County's ice hockey players are just as talented and hard working as all of the other winter athletes.

With that in mind, here are the Howard County Ice Hockey All-Stars. We've already run our basketball, wrestling and indoor track all-county stories, so it's time for the young men and women of ice hockey to get their recognition.

(Note: The following information was taken from the MSHL Capitals Cup Championship program)

2012 Hobey Baker High School Character Award recipients

Zachary Michels, Atholton

Russ Hobson, Centennial

Carlos Ramirez, Glenelg

Blake Gleadall, Howard

Jarek Milauskas, Long Reach

Daniel Beschner, Marriotts Ridge

Jake Grimes, River Hill

Andrew Amick, Wilde Lake

2012 All MSHL Team

First team

Andrew Amick, Wilde Lake/Hammond/Oakland Mills forward

Second team

Jansen Earle, Long Reach forward

All Howard County team

G: Dylan Schoen, Marriotts Ridge

D: Konnor Ruggles, Howard

D: Katherine Mackey, W/H/O

F: Andrew Amick, W/H/O

F: Jansen Earle, Long Reach

F: Zach Michels, Atholton

Academic All-Stars

Atholton: Eliot Tarash (D), Jason Pazulski (F), Nicholas Bogdash (D), Brad DeThomas (D), Fergus Hall (F), Jason Eng (F) and Matthew Haney (D).

Centennial: Derek Nadeau (D), Sam Lear (F), Russell Hobson (D) and Laura Brezinski (D).

Glenelg: Jacob Dillon (F), Edward Taylor (D), Simon King (F), Bradley Coon (F), Carlos Ramirez (F), Holly Erbe (F), Dalton Hawkins (D) and Jack Stang (D).

Hammond: Nalani Gallaher (F).

Howard: David Boudjeda (G), Gabi Margarida (F), Justin Goldberg (D) and Phillip LoPresto (F).

Long Reach: Dominic Sesto (F), Robert Ouellette (F), Jansen Earle (F), Jarek Milauskas (F), Jeff Dudley (D), Alex Miller (F) and Thomas Reboullet (D).

Marriotts Ridge: Daniel Vogel (D), Ryan Condron (F), James Martison (F), Jason Winik (F), Daniel Beschner (F), Matthew Emery (F), Kyler Barrett (D) and Troy Dunkle (D).

Mt. Hebron: Kevin Duke (G), Connor DuBois (F), Connor Kelleher (D), Kasper Nilsson (G), David Yacynych (F), Benjamin Jablon (F) and Mason Lichliter (F).

Oakland Mills: Alexa Kanakry (G) and Rachel Linder (F).

River Hill: Ben Peters (D), Patrick Evans (F), Caleb Seyala (F), Kevin Green (F), Shasta Braithwaite (F) and Ryan Benedek (F).

Wilde Lake: Zachary Johnson (F), Andrew Amick (D), Timothy Bryson (F), Katherine Mackey (D) and Michael Amick (F).

Academic team champion: Long Reach

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad