Helt retains seat, Everich and King added to Mount Airy council

Mount Airy residents reaffirmed one sitting Town Council member to new term, added one previous member to return to the group, and also added a new face to the council in the town's May 7 election.

In the process, voters filled a seat vacated by a member who declined to run, and ousted a 24-year veteran of the council.

Three seats on the five-member council were up for grabs. The top vote-getter was incumbent Council President Peter Helt, who garnered 645 votes.

Second was Chris Everich, who gathered 554 votes. Everich wasn't an incumbent, but had served on the council for several months in 2009-10 as an interim, appointed member filling a vacant seat. He had also served on the town's Planning Commission.

And Bob King, chairman of the town's Parks and Recreation Commission, took the third seat with 526 votes.

David Pyatt, who sat on the council since 1988, came up short in the race for three seats, garnering 437 votes. And Kristin Blais rounded out the field with 295 votes.

Incumbents Scott Strong and David Blais were not up for election this year; nor was Mayor Patrick Rockinberg.

Incumbent Wendi Peters was up for reelection, but had announced that she would not seek to retain her seat on the council.

Town Board of Elections Chairman Bruce Walz read the results at the town's Monday, May 7, meeting after the polls closed at 8 p.m.

Jim Joyner

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad