Carroll County Education Notes, from Winters Mills' brass act to new Leos at Francis Scott Key

Tech Center student places third in national welding competition

Collins Lethbridge, a student at Francis Scott Key High School who is also a welding technologies student at the Carroll County Career and Technology Center, recently competed in the national Arc Welding Awards.

He earned the Regional Bronze Award for the High School Division Region 1, which includes 17 states and the District of Columbia.

Lethbridge chose a fence and gate project which required him to plan, design, and fabricate three major parts of the project — a blueprint to show the project to include dimensions and welding symbols, pictures of the finished project, and a report that outlined the steps and machinery used to build the project.

Lethbridge's finished project was displayed at a convention in Indiana. The Arc Welding Awards are sponsored by the James F. Lincoln Arc Welding Foundation.

New Leo Club forms at Francis Scott Key High School

A new Francis Scott Key High School Leo Club— an offshoot of Lions Club International designed for students — was formed when 16 members signed their Leo Charter.

The Taneytown Lions Club sponsored the new club.

Carly Weetman of Westminster was selected as president of the club, and Michael Slevin of New Windsor will serve as secretary.

The Leo Club at FSK is planning community service projects such as a Christmas Tree Project for Carroll Hospice, a fleece blankets and pillows project for the Children's Center at Carroll Hospital, and a project for "Pennies for Leukemia."

The Leo Club meets on Mondays at 9:20 a.m. at the school. Students ages 12-18 who would like to receive more information on the club may contact Sam Foster at 410-751-4994 or

Student pages selected for General Assembly session

Several local students were recently selected to serve as students pages during the Maryland General Assembly session that opens in January.

Each year the State Legislature invites high school students throughout the state to serve as pages on the floor of the House of Delegates and Senate. Carroll County is eligible to select four representatives and one alternate.

Seniors from all eight public high schools in Carroll County were eligible to apply. This year the students representing the county are:

Cory Maks, Westminster High School.

Taylor Sprague, Liberty High School.

Madison Getty, Manchester Valley High School.

Daniel Stonko, Manchester Valley High School.

Nathaniel May, Liberty High School (alternate).

The senior will work as legislative pages for two non-consecutive weeks during the regular session of the legislature. The program is designed to interest youth in state government, particularly in the proceedings of the Maryland legislature.

During their assignment, the pages will maintain the bill books of delegates and senators, run errands, distribute literature and provide general assistance.

Westminster Elementary students tour White House gardens

A group of students from Westminster Elementary School were recently invited to tour the White House gardens, and made the trip to the Nation's Capital on Nov. 16.

The school was invited based on an essay submitted to the White House website by health teacher Holly Walter. The 250-word essay explained how the school promotes nutrition and healthy choices.

In the essay, Walter included the fact that there are full-time health educators in all Carroll County elementary schools.

She noted that students at Westminster Elementary this year planted an outdoor garden and grew pumpkins, and also that the school has participated in Project ACES (All Children Exercise Simultaneously) for the past 12 years.

Chamber seeks nominations for Outstanding Teacher awards

The Carroll County Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the 23rd annual Outstanding Teacher Awards. The deadline for nominations is Jan 3, 2012.

The awards recognize men and women of the Carroll County Public Schools who represent excellence in the profession. Any full-time elementary, middle, high school, career and technology, special education teacher, counselor or media specialist in CCPS is eligible for nomination.

Any parent, student, fellow teacher, supervisor, or school administrator may submit a nomination. Eight finalists will be named at the chamber's awards program in March 2012. These eight teachers will be eligible for the Carroll County Teacher of the Year Award.

For more information, or to request a nomination form, call 410-848-9050.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad