Indoor track: Hereford sweeps Baltimore County championships

The Hereford girls (103 points) cruised past runner-up Franklin (74.5) to capture their sixth straight Baltimore County indoor track and field championship Tuesday night at the Fifth Regiment Armory.

Not to be outdone, the Hereford boys (91 points ) tacked on a third straight county crown by beating a Franklin team (54) that had beaten the Bulls in two-regular-season meets and three invitationals.

"I think this is the best team we have ever had," Hereford girls coach Brad Duvall said. "We have such a diverse group. We have the ability to score three-deep in almost every event, from the 500 (meters) up and in every relay."

Senior Emily VandeWater paced the Bulls, garnering titles in the 800 (2 minutes, 27.90 seconds) and 1,600 meters (5:25.20) while running a leg on the 1,600 relay team (4:22.70).

VandeWater led from start to finish in the 800.

"I wanted to take it out hard because I needed a fast pace, and basically just hang on through the middle," she said. Sophomore Sara Carter posted Hereford's other individual title (3,200, 11:41.20).

Western Tech sophomore Sharon Dorsey turned in a standout performance, taking championships in the 300 (42.20) and 500 (1:21.80). "She has such a fight in her," Western Tech girls coach Shedrick Elliott said, noting there were only 15 minutes between the races. "I didn't know what to expect out of her with the short amount of rest between events."

The Milford Mill 800 relay team, Medinan Spencer, Mykael Dixon, Toni Brown and Racquel Moss, set a meet record (1:48.50) and Moses broke a 23-year-old record in the 55 hurdles (8.47).

The Hereford boys' best event was the 3,200, which netted 20 points behind winning junior Jon Luckin (10:21.50), who also took top honors in the 1,600 (4:38.60).

Julian Rivera was second and Kevin Collins was fifth in the 3,200.

"My guys just came up big today," Hereford boys coach Jason Bowman said. "That 3,200 was it. Going in, I was hoping for maybe 10 points and we came out with 20. That was huge."

Hereford's Matt Lehnert added a victory in the 800 (2:08.10) as did Kevin Payne in the pole vault (12-6) and Graham Hensley in the shot put (44-4 1/4).

Additional girls winners

55-meter dash: Mykael Dixon (7.44), Milford Mill.

1,600-meter relay: Morgan Oakley, Sarah Ashwood, Emily VandeWater, Bailey Wilhelm (4:22.70), Hereford.

3,200-meter relay: Rennie Tankersley, Erin Causey, Morgan Oakley, Sara Carter (10:16.0), Hereford.

High jump: Rayven Ray (5-feet), Kenwood.

Pole vault: Abby Wenck (8-6), Hereford.

Shot put: Christine Agories (30-11.5), Franklin.

Additional boys winners

55-dash: Kemondre Robinson (6.73), Lansdowne.

300 dash: Yelnats Calvin (37.70), Lansdowne.

55-hurdles: Esanye Ogbe (8.27), Franklin.

800 relay: Esanye Ogbe, Sterlyn Elder, Antonio Marshall, Zach Decarlo (1:37.70), Franklin.

1,600 relay: Carrington Akosa, Obinna Kalu, Brandon Blake, Kemahn Jones (3:42.50), Western Tech.

3,200 relay: Jordan Coates, Travon Chase, Jose Cruz, Vincent Ciattei (8:49.70), Perry Hall.

High jump: Michael Cronauer (6-0), Franklin.

Girls standings (top 10)

1. Hereford 103.

2. Franklin 74.5.

3. Western Tech 72.

4. Milford Mills 46.

5. Dulaney 34.

6. Kenwood 20.

7. Overlea 16.

8. Catonsville 12.

9. Owings Mills 10.

10. Loch Raven 7.

Boys standings (top 10)

1. Hereford 91.

2. Franklin 54.

3. Catonsville 41.

4. Dulaney 39.

5. Perry Hall 28.5.

6. Lansdowne 28.

7. Milford Mill 24.

8. Western Tech 19.

9. Woodlawn 18.

10. Owings Mills 14.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad