Ba-Zing-Ga's are champs of Bel Air Women's Summer Lacrosse League

The 2012 season came to a close Thursday night for the Bel Air Women's Summer Lacrosse League. The Ba-Zing-Ga's were crowned league champions after a 16-8 beating of Rip Sesh in the league's championship game played at Rockfield Park's Ewing Street Field.

The champs scored eight goals in each half, while limiting Rip Sesh to for goals per half.

Nicole Terry scored four goals to pace nine different Ba-Zing-Ga's scorers. Sara Chesla and Anna Pollitt each scored three goals, while six tallied single goals. The six goal scorers were Nicole Miller, Monica Ashton, Kaylee Litke, Cortney Chen, Sarah Willis and Maddi Cypher. Litke also had all three assists.

Kathleen Tress led Rip Sesh with four goals and Liz DiNunno added a pair of goals. Lisa Labre and Kelley Duncan also scored goals and Lauren Dooley contributed one assist.

Roxanne Diedrich earned the win in goal, making five saves, while substitute goalie Kaitlyn Neumeister had 12 saves for Rip Sesh.

Bubbalicious takes third

The league's consolation game was won by Bubbalicious, 7-4, over Gray Goose, the team that entered the tourney as the top seed. Meghan Najewicz and Lisa Parr paced the Bubbalicious scoring with two goals each. Brooke Prater, Kara Cornelius and Maddie Sullivan each added single goals. Parr tallied two assists, while Prater and Sullivan had one assist apiece.

Kelly Kemper scored three goals to lead Gray Goose and Morgan Heller had the other goal. Lacey Underhill and Kati Vu added assists.

Neumeister, playing in her own team's goal, registered eight saves for the winners, and Brittany MacKnew made 12 saves in the Gray Goose nets.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad