CMW swimmers continue unbeaten streak, top Tech, J.C. at tri-meet

The C. Milton Wright Mustangs continued their unbeaten streak Wednesday night at the Edgewood Middle pool, swimming to combined victories over Harford Tech and John Carroll.

CMW topped Harford Tech, 126-62, and beat John Carroll, 143-42.

Harford Tech took a victory over John Carroll, beating the Patriots, 107-78.

CMW's Megan Cowan took a pair of victories, winning both the girls 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard butterfly.

Lauren O'Mara earned the Mustangs two top finishes, beating the field in the girls 200-yard freestyle and 500-yard freestyle, while sister Julia O'Mara was also good for a pair of victories, racing to wins in the girls 100-yard breaststroke and 100-yard freestyle.

Erika Abshire won the 100-yard backstroke for the CMW girls, who took first in every individual race but one.

The Mustangs' Ryan Pellegrino won the boys 100-yard backstroke and 100-yard freestyle, while teammate Colin Hildebeidel took top honors in the boys 100-yard butterfly and 200-yard medley.

Andrew Youn won the boys 200-yard freestyle for CMW.

Harford Tech's Justin Carestia took two individual wins, earning first place in the boys 100-yard breaststroke and 500-yard freestyle, while fellow Cobra Gracen Clem won the boys 50-yard freestyle.

John Carroll's lone individual winner was Emily Cashour, who took first in the girls 200-yard medley.

Abshire, Cowan, Anne Capozzoli and Julia O'Mara won the girls 200-yard medley relay.

Hildebeidel, Pellegrino, Bernie Chang and Nate Ehrhardt took first in the boys 200-yard freestyle relay, while the CMW girls team of Maggie Gallagher, Courtney Gangl, Jill Caster and Julia O'Mara won the girls 200-yard freestyle relay.

CMW swept the 400-yard freestyle relays, with Hildebeidel, Ehrhardt, Youn and Matt Treusdell winning the boys event, and Abshire, Gallagher, Erika Slotnick and Lauren O'Mara taking the girls race.

Harford Tech's team of Carestia, Clem, Tim Seitzinger and Travis Girvin won the boys 200-yard medley relay.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad