Applicants for Harford District Court judgeship sought

The Maryland Administrative Office of the Courts is seeking applicants for the Harford County District Court judgeship left vacant by the retirement of Judge John L. Dunnigan, who left the bench effective March 1.

Any lawyer interested in applying is asked to fill out the personal data questionnaire available on line at the Maryland Judiciary's web site,

The questionnaire, along with at least 16 copies each of two writing samples, must be received by Deborah A. Unitus or Debra L. Kaminski in the Administrative Office of the Courts, Program Services, 2001-D Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, MD, 21401, by the close of business at 4:30 p.m. Monday, March 25. No late applications will be accepted.

Those who have applied within the past 24 months need not complete the personal data questionnaire again; instead they may submit a letter noting application for the new position and including any changes. The office of the courts recently sought applicants for a Harford County Circuit Court judgeship vacancy left by the retirement of Emory A. Plitt Jr.

Gov. Martin O'Malley will make an appointment to fill the judgeship, but first the applications will be reviewed by the Harford County Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commission, which includes: Laura V. Bearsch, Chair; Penny L. Comeau, Maria A. Terry, Nancy Levy Giorno, Christopher R. vanRoden, M. Pilar Gracia, Kevin A. Williams, O'Melia V. James, Charles B. Keenan Jr. and Allan G. Nelson.

The commission will make recommendations to the governor.

Any questions about the application process should be directed to Unitus or Kaminski at 410-260-1291 or Maryland Relay Service (TTY/Voice) 1-800-735-2258.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad