Don’t miss the ultimate foodie event, The Baltimore Sun's Secret Supper

Harford officers honored for 2012 DUI arrests

The Harford County State's Attorney's Office honored local law enforcement officers, at the annual DUI Award Ceremony May 15, for their drunk driving enforcement efforts.

Harford State's Attorney Joseph Cassilly presented awards to law enforcement officers who made outstanding drunk and drugged driving arrests during 2012. The ceremony was held in the ceremonial courtroom in the Harford County Courthouse in Bel Air.

"Our law enforcement officers are the best in their efforts to maintain safety on the county's roads," Cassilly said. "They are responsible for saving many lives and sparing families the devastation caused by impaired drivers. Harford County is proud to acknowledge their service."

The ceremony also recognized drug recognition experts, or DREs, who are instrumental in arrests of drugged drivers.

The following is a list of the law enforcement officers who received an award. An asterisk notes a repeat honoree.

Maryland State Police - Bel Air

Tfc. John Langenfelder - 25 arrests*

Tfc. Aaron Bates - 23 arrests

Tpr. Stephen Whittenberg - 20 arrests

Tfc. Steven Muehl - 19 arrests*

Tfc. Zachary Shelley - 18 arrests

Maryland State Police - JFK Highway

Tfc. Gerald Askins - 102 arrests*

Tfc. Alphrin Norman - 69 arrests

Tfc. Matthew Attkinson - 34 arrests*

Tfc. Marvin Harrison - 24 arrests

Tfc. Nicholas Iannucci - 24 arrests* (Trooper of the Year)

Harford County Sheriff's Office

Dfc. Christopher Maddox - 35 arrests*

Dfc. Anthony Isgro - 19 arrests

Dfc. Ronald Dawson - 15 arrests*

Dfc. J. Nate Gerres - 13 arrests

Dfc. John J. Miner - 12 arrests* (22 years in top five)

Maryland Transportation Authority Police

Officer Gregory Sampson - 19 arrests*

Officer Andre Fontz - 17 arrests * (10 DWI and seven DRE)

Officer Timothy Howell - 8 arrests*

Cpl. Emory Williams - 6 arrests*

Bel Air Police Department

Officer M. F. Gullion - 7 arrests*

Officer T. L. Foreman - 5 arrests

Havre de Grace Police Department

Pfc. Aaron Sandruck - 20 arrests*

Pfc. Brian Daniels - 14 arrests*

Pfc. John Sova (DRE) - 10 arrests*

Pfc. Jeremy Lathroum - 5 arrests*

Aberdeen Police Department

Officer Jeannette Giganti - 13 arrests*

Cpl. Craig Gentile - 9 arrests *

Officer Michael Soler - 9 arrests

The Harford County State's Attorney's Office has been active in the annual DWI Law Enforcement Recognition Awards for the past 22 years and has supported the outstanding work of each officer.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad