Time change later than usual, but spring is on its way in Harford [25 years ago]

From The Aegis dated March 31, 1988:

Daylight saving time was much later 25 years ago, with the day to spring forward was not until April 3. But spring was certainly on its way this week, with warmer weather and some showers spurring on the early season blooms. Crocuses were out and their petals wide open in anticipation of the end of winter.

The owner of a Bel Air day care was set to be facing fines of up to $1,000 a day if she opened the center as she said she would April 1.

The day care was in the midst of a legal battle with the state over allegations of several cases of sexual child abuse occurred there almost a year earlier.

The State Department of Health and Mental Hygiene has ordered the day care closed during the investigation, but a local circuit court judge overruled and allowed the day care to remain open. The stay of the closure order, however, was set to expire March 31, just two days before a new license, were it approved, was to go into effect for the day care.

The owner vowed that she would open with her new license, despite the order to shut down. If she did open without a license, she could have been fined as much as $1,000 a day.

The county executive's financial proposal for fiscal year 1988-1989 called for a $148 million operating budget. It included a $22.3 million increase in spending, 17.7 percent, over the $100 million in fiscal year 1987-1988.

The budget, sent this week 25 years ago to the Harford County Council, did not include a property tax rate increase, which would stay at $2.73 per $100 of assessed value.

"There is nothing particularly remarkable about it; it's a very ordinary budget," Habern W. Freeman said, adding it didn't contain any real surprises.

It was election season in eastern Harford County 25 years ago, when nine candidates were seeking three seats on the Aberdeen Board of Commissioners.

Seeking reelection were Board President George Englesson and Commissioners Ruth Elliott and Edward Somody, the last of the three to file.

Challenging them were Bill Benjamin, retired Lt. Col. David Hayes, Evelyn "Lynn" Becker, John Bailiff, James Fowler and Raymond Hanson.

The election was set for Tuesday, May 3.

George Young, the vice president and general manager of the New York Giants, was to be the featured speaker at the Third Annual Al Cesky Scholarship Awards Banquet in May, it was announced 25 years ago this week.

One graduating male and one graduating female student from each county high school would receive a $500 scholarship. Of those, one male and one female each would be awarded a $5,000 scholarship.

Tickets were $30 per person and the event was expected to sell out, so organizers were urging people to buy their tickets early.

A balloon released in Ada, Okla., by Steven Hyatt, of Route 3, found its way to Harford County 25 years ago, specifically to a tree in the yard of Joseph Clifford, of Edgewood.

A retired truck driver, Clifford was bothered by the litter, so he went to investigate and that's when he realized the balloon had traveled an estimated 1,750 miles north and east of its launching spot.

The release was part of a school project, and the principal, Betty Allred, was surprised to learn the balloon had traveled so far.

"This is just fantastic," she said of the balloon's voyage that ended just off the Bush River at the entrance to the Chesapeake Bay. "We're going to have a good geography lesson tomorrow figuring out where Edgewood is."

Twenty bachelors helped raise $8,500 for charity 25 years ago this week. Emcee Lynn Anderson, editor of the singles' newspaper The Little Black Book, announced the bachelors to a crowd of about 300 people at Scandal's in Fallston.

Among the bachelors lending a hand, who ranged in age from 22 to 42, were Richard Foard, Ron Donoho, Dr. Brian L. Regan, Stuart B. Jones, Steve T. Claus, Richard Hoshal, Bruce Linder, March Evans Jones, Jeff Eisenhour, Michael J. Mellion, J. Michael Pearce, Kevin Orr, Rock Otenasek, Joseph H. Shagena III, Roland C. Burrell III, Steven Dorsey, George B. Thurman III, Dave P. McGrath and Matthew Biedermann.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad