The Magic's 2013-14 D-League affiliate will be the Fort Wayne Mad Ants

Orlando Sentinel

The Orlando Magic's NBA Development League affiliate for the upcoming season will be the Fort Wayne Mad Ants, the NBA announced this afternoon.

The Magic will share the Mad Ants with the Charlotte Bobcats, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, Memphis Grizzlies and the Milwaukee Bucks.

That sharing arrangement, along with Fort Wayne's location, make the Mad Ants a less-than-ideal affiliate for the Magic.

Still, it's better than the situation last season, when the Magic's affiliate was the Sioux Falls Skyforce. Sioux Falls' remote location made it counterproductive for the Magic to send any of their young players there.

Fort Wayne, Ind., at least, is closer than South Dakota.

There are 17 D-League teams, and 14 of them have one-to-one relationships with NBA teams. For example, the San Antonio Spurs have a one-to-one relationship with the Austin Toros, and the Oklahoma City Thunder have a one-to-one relationship with the Tulsa 66ers.

Magic officials ultimately would like to have a one-to-one agreement with the D-League team if that franchise is close to Orlando. But there are no D-League teams in Florida, and there are none in the states closest to Florida.

NBA players in the first three years of their careers may be assigned to their NBA team's D-League affiliate an unlimited number of times. 

Josh Robbins covers the Orlando Magic and the NBA for the Orlando Sentinel. You can reach him via e-mail at and connect with him on Facebook at Follow him on Twitter at @JoshuaBRobbins.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad