Bethune-Cookman starts FCS Playoffs with rematch at Coastal Carolina | FCS pairings

Orlando Sentinel

MEAC champion Bethune-Cookman Wildcats will start off the Football Bowl Championship playoffs on the road at Coastal Carolina Saturday.

"We just found out we travel to CCU and play against a good Coastal Carolina team that we lost to last year. We're excited to line up against them and play them again," B-CU head coach Brian Jenkins said. 

 B-CU was hoping for a home game, but after hosting two FCS playoff games in the past three seasons, the Wildcats will hit the road this time. The game is a rematch of last season's first-round playoff game in which the Chanticleers defeated B-CU 24-14 at Daytona Beach.

B-CU  finished the regular season 10-2 after defeating Florida A&M 29-10 in the Florida Classic on Saturday. The winner of Saturday's game will advance to play Montana in the second round.

"We feel good after yesterday's win, but we still didn't play a full football game. We need to correct some stuff and get better," Jenkins said. "The team feels good and we came out of the game healthy. That's always a positive."

The top eight teams received first-round byes for the tournament. The overall No. 1 seed is two-time defending champion North Dakota State

"It'll be business as usual for us. Our guys understand what this is all about and continue to do the things we do each and every day in order to be successful," Jenkins said. "We understand there's a lot of football left to play. We got some goals accomplished this year and need to accomplish our ultimate goal now of working to win a national championship."

2013 FCS Playoffs


(top seeds all receive byes)

Furman (7-5) at South Carolina State (9-3)

Bethune-Cookman (10-2) at Coastal Carolina (10-2)

Lafayette (5-6) at New Hampshire (7-4)

Southern Utah (8-4) at Sam Houston State (8-4)

South Dakota State (8-4) at Northern Arizona (9-2)

Samford (8-4) at Jacksonville State (9-3)

Sacred Heart (10-2) at Fordham (11-1)

Tennessee State (9-3) at Butler (9-3)



Furman/South Carolina State winner at #1 North Dakota State (11-0)

B-CU/Coastal Carolina winner at #8 Montana (10-2)

Lafayette/New Hampshire winner at Maine (10-2)

Southern Utah/Sam Houston State winner at Southeastern Louisiana (10-2)

South Dakota State/Northern Arizona winner at Eastern Washington (10-2)

Samford/Jacksonville State winner at McNeese State (10-2)

Sacred Heart/Fordham winner at Towson (10-2)

Tennessee State/Butler winner at Eastern Illinois (11-1)


Chris Hays is the Sentinel's recruiting coverage coordinator and can be reached at Follow us on Twitter at @Os_Recruiting and Facebook at Orlando Sentinel Recruiting, Instagram at os_recruiting and on Pinterest at Orlando Recruiting.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad