Become a digitalPLUS subscriber. 99¢ for 4 weeks.

1999: Freeman Hrabowski

University of Maryland Baltimore County President Freeman A. Hrabowski III earned the 1999 Marylander of the Year award for "his energy and missionary zeal to champion two trends that have transformed UMBC. On one of these he is a national authority. That is recruiting and nurturing... Chiaki Kawajiri, Baltimore Sun