Triple Crown: Impossible dream?

After Kentucky Derby winner Orb finished in fourth place at the Preakness, we are on the longest drought ever for a Triple Crown winner ("Lukas kept prediction to himself: Oxbow," May 20). The last time a horse won a Triple Crown was Affirmed in 1978.

Besides Affirmed, there 10 other horses who won the Triple Crown: Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), and Seattle Slew (1977).

Since when Affirmed last won the Triple Crown, 11 horses won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness, but lost the Belmont: Spectacular Bid (1979), Pleasant Colony (1982), Alysheba (1987), Sunday Silence (1989), Silver Charm (1997), Real Quiet (1998), Charismatic (1999), War Emblem (2002), Funny Cide (2003), Smarty Jones (2004), and Big Brown (2008).

I think the next Triple Crown winner won't be in the next 50 or 100 years.

Paul Bacon, Hallandale Beach, FL

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad