Reservoir teacher Harriett Lee gets Crystal Flame Award [Fulton/Highland]

Harriet Lee, a staff member at Reservoir High School and a mentor in the Black Student Achievement Program, received quite a surprise recently when the superintendent of the Howard County Public School System, Renee Foose, paid a visit to the school in order to present Lee with the first HCPSS Crystal Flame Award for Communication and Public Engagement.

Lee will be formally recognized by the county Board of Education at its next meeting and the presentation will be broadcast on the Howard County government cable channel.

The Crystal Flame Award is one of the four new awards replacing others, such as Teacher of the Year, that have been given in previous years.

Several students from Fulton Elementary School represented the school at the annual Battle of the Books on April 19. The students — Tatiana Hamilton, Katharine Durbin, Sarah Ricketts and Justin Hill — read 16 books and were prepared to answer questions from all of them. Their team, The Book Blasters, won third place for their team name.

Students inn the Reservoir High School music programs came back from their recent trip to Festival Disney music competition held in Orlando. Among individual winners were Outstanding Vocal Soloist: Stephanie Ichniowski; Outstanding Vocal Soloist: Andrea Miniño-Sola; and, Oustanding Concert Soloist: Anna Yang, piano. These kids are fortunate to have Greg Knauf, Colin O'Bryan and Matt Dubbs as their music directors. These teachers really stretch the students, bringing out their very best. Congratulations. One more thing — Jeff Kirkpatrick substituted for Matt Dubbs, who was home with his new baby girl! Congratulations to the Dubbs clan.

You've been reading in the column about how well the members of the speech and debate team are doing at Reservoir High. They've just added one more accolade to their voluminous credentials — National Charter Membership in the National Forensic League Debate and Speech Honor Society for their performances in debate and speech over the past several years.

This honor places the speech and debate program among the very best in the nation. Reservoirs' charter members are Brian Shouse, Sophie Bell, Zachary Blough, Advait Ramanan, Jacob Smith, Puja Trivedi, Mikal Walcott, Dylan Gellis, Daima Rosado, Jonathan Smith, Joseph Smith, and three past graduates — Nikhil Khanna, Lily Hong and Haley Sweeton. What an honor. Kudos to the team sponsor, Emily Mandile.

The Lime Kiln Middle School students of the week for the week ending May 10 were Alex Barila, Megan Smith, Rebecca Li, Carolyn Nguyen, Brandon Keller, Jake Carson, Komal Singh, Rishma Gattu, Hope Ndaba and Olivia Schindler.

Greg Knauf, the music director at Reservoir High School, reported that senior Lisa Horowitz organized the recent Tri-M used musical instrument collection drive and it was a huge success, bringing in an array from a drum set to a glockenspiel.

Hungry for Music, founded in 1992 in Washington, D.C., and now an international nonprofit whose goal is "Providing the gift of music to underserved children with a hunger to play.

Way to go, Lisa! And thanks to all who donated. What a gift you've given!

Copyright © 2018, Howard County Times, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad