Try digitalPLUS for 10 days for only $0.99


News Maryland Howard County Columbia

Atholton tennis cruises to regional title

After its dominant performance at the Howard County tennis tournament, Atholton was expected to repeat that success at the Region V tournament. And while the individual winners got slightly scrambled, the Raiders made a statement, winning the regional, 30-15, over runner-up River Hill.

Atholton sophomore Victoria Kogan (girls singles) and the boys doubles team of George Mao and Matt Sklar each avenged losses in last week's county tournament finals — to Atholton freshman Irene Lu and the Centennial boys doubles team of Chase Weinberg and Kevin Hsieh, respectively — to become regional champions at the Wilde Lake Tennis Center on Friday, May 17.

The boys doubles final was hotly contested, with Mao and Sklar winning in three sets: 6-7 (3), 7-6 (1), 6-4.

Reservoir senior Biyik Akinshemoyin (boys singles), the Centennial girls doubles team of Simone Jensen and Megan Mishra, and the Atholton mixed doubles team of Jenna Sweet and Scott Lee all followed up on their county titles with regional titles in straight sets.

And while the two doubles championships were rematches of the county finals, Howard senior Andrew Pagan upset River Hill freshman Alec Angradi in the semifinals to make it to the boys' singles championship.

The top two finishers in each bracket advance to next weekend's state tennis tournament at the University of Maryland.

Boys Singles

Championship: Akinshemoyin (Re) def. Pagan (Ho), 6-2, 6-0.

Third place: Angradi (RH) def. Buch (MR), 6-1, 6-7 (5), 6-4.

Girls Singles

Championship: Kogan (A) def. Lu (A), 6-2, 7-6 (7).

Third place: Stewart-Moore (RH) def. Barall (WL), 6-4, 2-1.

Boys Doubles

Championship: Mao/Sklar (A) def. Weinberg/Hsieh (C), 6-7 (3), 7-6 (1), 6-4.

Third place: Zhu/Hung (RH) def. Bivens/Tringali (MR), 6-1, 6-0.

Girls Doubles

Championship: Jensen/Mishra (C) def. Pant/Mathew (MH), 6-4, 6-3.

Third place: Knobel/Tatum (A) def. Oehrig/Hall (G).

Mixed Doubles

Championship: Sweet/Lee (A) def. Hoesman/Balter (Ho), 6-3, 6-4.

Third place: Kang/Bahri (MH) def. Hanrahan/Palli (RH), 6-3, 6-4.

Final team standings

1. Atholton, 30
2. River Hill, 15
3. Centennial, 12
4. Howard, 10
5. Mt. Hebron, 9
6. Reservoir, 7
7. Marriotts Ridge, 6
8. Wilde Lake, 3
    Glenelg, 3

Copyright © 2015, The Baltimore Sun
Related Content
  • Residents rally for affordable housing in Columbia

    Residents rally for affordable housing in Columbia

    Howard County residents lined up along the side of Little Patuxent Parkway Wednesday evening to call for affordable housing options in downtown Columbia as the area continues to develop. 

  • Jen Bleakney, Ryan Conrad named Sun's Athletes of the Year

    Jen Bleakney, Ryan Conrad named Sun's Athletes of the Year

    Atholton's Jen Bleakney and Loyola Blakefield's Ryan Conrad each combined a fierce competitive streak with speed and versatile skills to become national-level high school athletes in one sport and standouts in two more.

  • Columbia Art Center exhibit shows creativity of all ages

    Columbia Art Center exhibit shows creativity of all ages

    The "Annual Student Faculty Exhibition" at the Columbia Art Center has labels telling you which artworks were made by teachers and which were made by students, but otherwise this large exhibit's installation presents all of them mixed together as equal members of the artistic community.

  • Long Reach High School Class of 2015

    Long Reach High School Class of 2015

    Mirvet Abadi, Syeda Abbas, Carlos Aceituno Ayala, Peerapak Adsavakulchai, Mariela Aguilar Martinez, Cassidy Anderson, Davena Anderson, Kristal Anderson, Grace Antwiwaa, Jada Arenas, Ainsley Ashman, Kai Atanasoff, Patrice Avant

  • Atholton High School Class of 2015

    Atholton High School Class of 2015

    Christine Abraham, Adeola Adetunji, Aman Aggarwal, Hassan Ahmad, Kaitlyn Akin, Stephen Akyereko, Samantha Alan-Cole, Zachary Aldrich, Daniel Alvarez, Daniel An, Kathleen Anderson, Gage Armstrong, Lauren Arney, Scott Attoh-Armah, Nicholas Azzaro

  • Oakland Mills High School Class of 2015

    Oakland Mills High School Class of 2015

    Manar Abdalla, Joshua Adelegan, Ohiniba Agbossou, Zaynah Ahmed, Damilola Ajepe, Ali Mohammed Al-Juboori, Kholton Allen, Pierce Ambas, Keith Andrews, Jasmine Ardon, Rhoda Asamoah, Samuel Asiedu, Alexander Asifo