Glenelg leads Howard County wrestling tournament after first day

Defending champion Glenelg took an early lead in the 45th annual Howard County wrestling tournament, sending 10 wrestlers to Saturday morning's semifinal round.

Complete semifinal pairings are listed at the end of this story.

Click here for complete results and tournament information.

Host River Hill, which won the regular season county title, trails Glenelg by less than 10 points, 89.5-82, with nine semifinalists.

All 14 top seeds advanced through Friday evening's quarterfinal round, as did each No. 2 seed.

Top-seeded Sam Kraus (106), of Glenelg, needed an overtime takedown to defeat Mt. Hebron's determined Densu Kurian.

River Hill's Logan Kirby (195) and Cory Daniel (220), Reservoir's Mason Kilcarr (132) and Wilde Lake's Malik Jackson (152) are all going for their third county titles, a feat that only 20 wrestlers have accomplished in the tournament's 45 years.

River Hill senior Michael Beck (120) and Centennial sophomore Austin Kraisser (145) are both defending county champs.

Jackson has the fastest pin of the tournament so far, at 15 seconds. Beck has a 17-second pin, and Reservoir's top-seeded Hans Wicklein (138) clocked a 16-second fall.

River Hill last won the county tournament in 2012, when it scored a record 264.5 points, and has won seven county tournaments since 2000, including five in a row from 2000 to 2004.

Glenelg has won four county tournaments since 2007.

Semifinal matches (Saturday at 10:30 a.m.)

Sam Kraus (G) vs. Matt Shealy (RH)

Darian Kassiri (Ho) vs. Chris Spano (MR)


Collin Silk (G) vs. Julian Capino (OM)

Josh Kendrick (MH) vs. Romtin Habibi (MR)


Michael Beck (RH) vs. Nicholas Williams (Ho)

Jeff Hayden (MH) vs. Trent Kilcarr (Re)


Noah Polonsky (WL) vs. Will Parks (MR)

Troy Kilcarr (Re) vs. Jimmy Hayden (MH)


Mason Kilcarr (Re) vs. Ryan Erskine (RH)

Anthony Solis (Ha) vs. Tyler Anderson (WL)


Hans Wicklein (Re) vs. Michael Autry (G)

Matthew Claxton (OM) vs. Evan Nuss (Ha)


Austin Kraisser © vs. Paul Quattrone (Re)

Sean Guthier (RH) vs. Austin Pagnotta (G)


Malik Jackson (WL) vs. Michael Budock (G)

Connor Strunk (MH) vs. Sameh Boulos ©


Jaron Smith (OM) vs. Brady Daniel (RH)

Troy Walter (G) vs. Zachary Smith (A)


Joe Zoller (G) vs. Ernie Jose-Ferman (WL)

Sebastian Ames (RH) vs. Michael Bernal (MR)


Wesley Beattie (Re) vs. Dylan Juskus (OM)

Jared Rodriguez (Ho) vs. Austin Twigg (G)


Logan Kirby (RH) vs. Deon Williams (LR)

Chris Park (MR) vs. Craig Burris (G)


Cory Daniel (RH) vs. Kristopher Gough (WL)

Ryan Hassan (MH) vs. Michael Sullivan (Re)


Jeremy Nelson (Ha) vs. Jamie Cooch (G)

Nicholas Suri (MH) vs. Tyler Smith (RH)

Copyright © 2018, Howard County Times, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad