Incumbents declare victory in District 7 GOP House of Delegates race

Three incumbent Republican delegates declared victory Tuesday night against two primary challengers in race for House of Delegates District 7, a heavily Republican district which covers eastern Baltimore County and western Harford.

Incumbent Dels. Patrick McDonough, Kathy Szeliga and Rick Impallaria were well ahead of two challengers, according to district-wide totals posted on the Maryland State Board of Elections website.

McDonough declared victory early in the evening.

"The voters are satisfied with the work that we do as a team, Harford County values are basically conservative, and our voting records are clear," he said.

Szeliga added later: "I'm very proud of my team tonight and very grateful for all the volunteers that helped us be victorious this evening."

She said Impallaria was giving a "victory speech" to supporters.

The three incumbents had comfortable leads over challengers Dave Seman of Jarrettsville and Tina Sutherland of Middle River.

The GOP winners will take on three Democrats who did not have a primary contest in a district which has voted solidly Republican and gained more areas of northwestern Harford County, from Fallston to the Mason-Dixon Line, since the 2012 election.

McDonough said that brought more Republicans into the district, which "is now more Republican than it ever had been."

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad