John Carroll pounds Gilman in wrestling Wednesday

Highlighted by taking the first nine matches wrestled, John Carroll won 12 bouts overall in 63-12 dual meet pounding of Gilman Wednesday.

Devin Davis got it started for the Patriots, pinning in 3:22 at 126. Scott Strappelli won a forfeit at 132 and Artie Milner followed at 138 with a 9-0 major decision.

At 145, Steven Jernigan won by fall in :46 and at 152, George Weber also won by fall in 2:29.

The falls continued at 160 with Chris Almony winning in 1:16 and at 170 with Christian Scott pinning in 1:14. Hunter Ritter earned a 16-1 tech fall at 182, before another fall for Jay Etkins in 1:59 at 195.

Gilman won the next two bouts by pin, before John Carroll won the final three matches. CJ Skokowski won 7-1 at 106 and Austin Smith won 7-2 at 113. Zach Dwyer ended the meet with a 1:35 fall at 120.

Aberdeen drops Havre de Grace

Aberdeen won nine bouts Wednesday night as the Eagles knocked off host Havre de Grace, 46-21, in a wrestling dual meet.

After a forfeit for each in the two lightest weight classes, Aberdeen rolled off four straight wins for a 28-6 lead.

Dylan Morris started the run with the quickest pin of the night, decking Shane Andrews in :25 at 120 pounds.

Evan Smith followed with 23-12 major decision over Shawn Collins at 126, and Travis Hubler then pinned Josh Nuce in 3:13 at 132. Chris Banko closed the run at 138, pinning Ryan Wilson in 5:32.

Havre de Grace's first contested win came at 145, where Daniel Peters beat Daniel Velez, 5-2. Billy Morris countered for Aberdeen at 152, beating Jacob Nuce, 11-5.

The Warriors added their second win at 160 behind Mike Wheeler's 4:44 pin of Dylan Lucas.

Aberdeen countered again at 170, as Frank Jiogo pinned Zach Schulz in 1:30.

Havre de Grace got its last win at 182 with Nick Scarborough needing 1:12 to pin Tyler Fletcher.

Aberdeen closed out the meet with wins at 195 and 220. C.J. Allen pinned Engle Ramos in :37 at 195 and Adric Turner won 11-8 over Justin Wolbert at 220.

Neither team had a wrestler for the 285 bout.

Cougars win tri-meet

Fallston hosted Hereford and Towson on Tuesday and beat both, 33-30 and 49-21 respectively.

Six Cougars won in both meets. They were Colin McDonald, 106; Eric Baranoski, 113; Garrett Coburn, 145; CJ Austin, 160; Austin Rutkowski, 182; and Ridge Myers, 195.

Bel Air blasts Perryville

Fresh off their win over the weekend in Aberdeen, the Bel Air High wrestling team picked off another win Tuesday night, beating visiting Perryville, 66-14.

The Bobcats won all but three bouts, including seven by forfeit and four by pin.

William Holder-Moore earned the first pin at 182 pounds, stopping David Doring in 2:57. Cyler Crawford followed at 195, pinning Dustin Krahn in 1:35.

Brady Stafford also won by pin at 120, decking Justin Harreld in 2:47, while the final pin came from Noah Winter at 138. Winter had the quickest of the Bel Air pins, needing just :42 to put away his opponent.

Collecting forfeits were David Reagan, 106; Gavin Rupprecht, 113; Cameron Watts,132; Ryan Beveridge, 145; John Cross, 152; Anthony Zappanbaulso, 160; and Garrett Green, 220.

Perryville's Chris Brown had the fastest pin of the meet, winning in :38 at 126 over Connor Nash. Jake Ritter, 170, and Logan Kelly, 285, each won matches by major decisions for the Panthers.

Mustangs beat Hawks

C. Milton Wright won its second meet of the season Tuesday, beating host North Harford, 51-30. The Mustangs were winners in nine bouts, five by forfeit, three by pin and one in overtime.

The overtime win came at 126, with Nick DiMattia beating Jordan Avig by ride out in OT.

Collecting the pins for CMW were Mike Zito over Ty Sadowski at 132; Doug Their over Zac Edwards at 182; and Noah Bowers over Tyler Mason at 195.

Among North Harford's five wins, four came by fall. Trevor Smith pinned Mike Ritz at 120 and Logan Smith stopped Phillip Flint at 160. Angelo Koulatsos pinned Mickey Glendon at 170 and Robert Fiackos decked Frankie Marzen at 220. The other Hawk victory came by forfeit.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad