Harford school board meets next student rep

The next student representative on the Harford County Board of Education was recognized during Monday night's board meeting, several months before she will take her seat for the 2014-2015 school year.

Hannah Jones, 17 and a junior at Patterson Mill High School, was elected in December 2013 by the members of the Harford County Regional Association of Student Councils to represent Harford County Public Schools' 38,000 students.

Hannah has been shadowing Benjamin Barsam, the current student representative, since then, which is the traditional method for an incoming student representative to learn the ins and outs of the position.

Benjamin introduced Hannah, who was in the audience observing Monday night's board meeting.

Hannah will be sworn in during July's meeting, "at which point she'll be a wonderful asset for the students," Benjamin said.

"Great Board of Ed meeting tonight!" Hannah wrote on her Twitter feed Monday. "Fabulous presentation on the Food and Nutrition Services within HCPS. So excited to continue learning!"

Tech honors former principal

The school board voted to name a portion of the Harford Technical High School campus for William B. Seccurro, a former Harford Tech principal and a former career and technology education supervisor for the school system.

The school's construction courtyard will be named for Seccurro who, following his retirement from the school system, headed the Harford County Chamber of Commerce for several years.

In April 2013, board members unanimously approved a modification to the school system's facilities naming policy.

The new version allows parts of the campus beyond the buildings, such as courtyards, athletic facilities and libraries, to be named for educators and members of the community. The previous version of the policy had allowed only school buildings to be named for educators.

UCBAC championships

Board member Robert Frisch spoke Monday in favor of a recent decision by athletic directors representing Harford and Cecil County schools in the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference to recommend that conference championship games be eliminated.

The conference, known by its acronym UCBAC and made up of schools from Harford and Cecil counties, was rocked last year when players on the Harford Tech girls' lacrosse team, which had won the league's so-called lower division, decided they would not play the C. Milton Wright High School team, the upper division winner, for the title.

"I think, sometimes, it takes young people to redirect or change focus for adults," Frisch said.

The Harford Tech Cobras were the 2013 champions of the Susquehanna Division, which is typically home to the lower-ranked teams in the conference, and the CMW Mustangs were the Chesapeake Division champs.

The higher-ranked teams are typically clustered in the Chesapeake Division, leading to what one parent termed "David and Goliath matchups" in the conference championship.

The Harford Tech players refused to take part in the championship game last May and lost their division title. Their coach, Emma Little, was suspended by conference officials. The Mustangs were conference champs for 2013 by default.

Conference athletic directors met in mid-February and decided to no longer hold conference championship games.

The league's eight-member Board of Control, which is scheduled to meet in late March, has the final say on the matter.

Frisch encouraged the league's top officials to "follow the recommendations of the athletic directors and adjust the athletic program."

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad