Harford library board elects officers for 2015; members honored

Members of the Harford County Public Library's Board of Trustees unanimously approved a new slate of board officers for the 2014-2015 fiscal year.

Current Vice Chairperson Alex Allman was elected chairman; member and District Court Judge Susan Hazlett was elected vice chair and Kenneth Avery was re-elected treasurer.

The vote took place during the board's Thursday meeting in the Bel Air Branch.

"Thank you for your support, everyone," Allman said. "I really look forward to the upcoming year; I think it's going to be a great year."

Library Director Mary Hastler also announced that the appointments of two new board members, Durbin Vido and Taryn J. Martin, as well as the reappointment of member Dominic Cottone and the appointment of Student Representative Sarah Casper-Woodhead had been approved by the Harford County Council on May 13.

Cottone, Martin and Vido will serve five-year terms that end June 30, 2019. The student representative's one-year term ends June 30, 2015.

Board members' awards

Two board members who recently earned prestigious statewide awards were recognized during Thursday's meeting.

Board Chair Louise LeTendre, who will step down in June after 10 years on the board, received the Davis McCarn Technology Award from the Citizens for Maryland Libraries May 9.

The award is a "recognition of outstanding commitment and achievement in providing high-quality technology-based information services" to county libraries, schools and government agencies, as well as "all Marylanders," according to the text of the award.

"It's always nice to have libraries recognized, and that Harford County uses the libraries so well and so appreciatively that it's a pleasure to be part of serving," LeTendre said following the board meeting.

LeTendre lives in the Water's Edge community in Belcamp – the former site of the local Bata Shoe Company plant, and she is the team leader for the Technical Library at the Army Research Laboratory.

Vice Chair-elect Susan Hazlett, who is district administrative judge for the Harford County District Court, was named one of Maryland's Top 100 Women for 2014 by The Daily Record, a Baltimore-based business publication. The winners were announced May 5.

"I was quite honored to be chosen," Hazlett said.

She is one of four Harford County women who received the honor – Elizabeth Hendrix, director of the Department of Community Services, state Sen. Nancy Jacobs and Bel Air-area dentist Dr. Mary Teddy Wray were also named on the 2014 list.

Hastler, who nominated Hazlett, was named to the 2013 Daily Record list.

Hazlett, who lives in the Baldwin community and represents the Fallston area on the library board, is the first female administrative judge for the District Court.

She also oversees Harford County's Teen Court, which is designed for juveniles who have accepted responsibilities. Their sanctions are meted out by a jury of their teenage peers.

"It's my favorite thing to do besides my actual job," she said. "It's really interesting."

Havre de Grace branch update

Hastler reported that the design process for the new Havre de Grace branch is nearly complete, and officials hope to begin seeking bids in mid-June.

Library officials plan to build a two-story branch to replace the existing one-story Havre de Grace branch at North Union and Pennington avenues.

Hastler also noted the HCPL Foundation has raised about $100,000 for the Havre de Grace Library Building Fund.

Foundation officials have set a goal of $200,000 by December of 2015. The funds would cover "furniture, fixtures and equipment" for the branch, according to the foundation's web page.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad