Ever wanted to go back to college for the day? Don’t miss: 3 top lecturers in Baltimore

Audrey Moon shoots 83 at state golf tourney; CMW shoots 357 as a team

Randy McRoberts
Contact Reporterrmcroberts@baltsun.com

The Maryland State Golf Tournament saw its first day of action Monday at the University of Maryland Golf Course in College Park. The course is a par 71.

Monday’s play featured the state’s best teams and players from the Class 3A and 4A school classifications. Participating teams and individual players qualified through district tourneys held previously across the state.

Harford County had five players competing: Audrey Moon playing as an individual for Aberdeen and a team of C. Milton Wright Mustangs. Those players were Michael Cummings, Talen Lurz, Ethan Hauer and Alex Mattes.

Both Moon and the CMW team were playing in hopes of qualifying for Wednesday’s final round.

Class 1A and 2A individuals and teams are set for play Tuesday at the same course with a shotgun start time of 10 a.m. The start time was moved back an hour, noting the potential for rain overnight into the early hours of Tuesday.

In Monday’s play, Moon shot the score of 83. North Point’s Bailey Davis shot the low score of 71 to lead the 31-player field. There were 15 players with better scores than Moon.

In the boys competition, CMW shot 357, the lowest score among the 15 competing teams.

“The course has many tree lined holes and the greens are undulating. The level of competition at states is deeper and there are talented golfers that will be playing on a collegiate level at all three levels,” Mustangs coach John Evans said. “This was our first trip to states, I am very proud of this team and all that it has achieved.”

Cummings shot the best round among the Mustangs, an 88, while his teammates were bunched right around him.

Lurz finished with an 89, while both Hauer and Mattes shot 90. The day’s best score, a 73, was shot by Churchill’s Dylan Rotter.

Class 1A-2A players

In Tuesday’s play, teams from Fallston, North Harford and Patterson Mill will compete.

William Creery, the District VII champion, will lead Fallston. The other Cougars playing are Everett Cox, Michael Corona and Zach Barkhorn.

Paula Moon, the female District VII champ, and Michael Montgomery will anchor the Patterson Mill foursome, that also includes Samuel Sapp and Tyler Jessup.

Jake Nemeth will lead the North Harford team. Joining him are Derek McManus, Wyatt Biensach and Sarah Hendrickson.

In addition, Harford Tech’s Adam Haviland and Perryville’s Matthew O’Neill are playing as individuals.

At the conclusion of Tuesday’s play, the top 40 percent of both female and male players will advance to Wednesday’s final round.

Reach Randy McRoberts on twitter. @aegissports

Copyright © 2018, The Aegis, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad