Harford wrestlers headed to regional action

Fresh off UCBAC Tournament competition, Harford wrestlers now turn their focus on regional mat action, which will propel some onot the following weekend's Maryland State Tournament in College Park.

Harford is set to send 64 wrestlers into battle at two different sites. Aberdeen, Bel Air, C. Milton Wright, Edgewood and North Harford will compete in the Class 3A-4A East Region tourney to be held at Northeast-Anne Arundel High School, while Fallston, Harford Tech, Havre de Grace and Patterson Mill will compete in the 1A-2A East Region tourney at North Caroline High School in Ridgely.

The 3A-4A tournament will begin today (Friday) at 5 p.m. and resume Saturday at 10 a.m.

The 1A-2A tournament is a one-day event on Saturday. Wrestling is slated to begin at 9:30 a.m. and continue throughout the day. Championship finals are set for a 7 p.m. start.

Bel Air leads Harford's contingent with 12 wrestlers. They are David Reagan, Gavin Rupprecht, Brady Stafford, Ryan Beveridge, Sam Guo, Cam Watts, John Cross, Grant Fleming, Tom Gomez, Cyler Crawford, Drew Dyer and Dakota Crawford. Reagan and Cross received tops seeds.

North Harford will seven wrestlers: Austin Mitchell, Will Sadowski, Trevor Smith, Greg Fiackos, Angelo Koulatsos, Patrick Lawrence and Justin Reinecke.

Aberdeen also qualified seven: Marcos Colon-Pappaterra, Dylan Morris, Billy Morris, Daniel Velez, Frank Jiogo, Adric Turner and C.J. Allen.

CMW qualified six wrestlers: Ed Tomaskovic, Nick DiMattia, Mike Zito, Spencer Hellman, Doug Thier and Alan Dorsey. Dorsey is a top seed.

Edgewood was able to qualify one wrestler, Shawn Kluchinsky.

Tech leads Harford's 1A-2A grapplers with 10: Zach Granese, Andy Schwartz, Brendan Hayes, Johnathan Lechert, Andrey Kalwa, Tyler Butler, Andrew Butler, Austin Bulger, Eric Cornelius and Emanuel Daramola.

Fallston will send nine: Devin Hyman, Donyvan Hohman, Eric Baranoski, Logan Ziervogel, Zach Ziervogel, Gordie Reilley, Austin Rutkowski, Gabe Wagner and Alex Helm.

Patterson Mill qualified nine: Colin McDonald, Brent Iwanowski, Jake Nikkila, Juan Bustamante, Josh Holbrook, Andrew Wilkinson, Joe King, Eric Eckstein and Brian Whitby.

Havre de Grace will send three: Jacob Nuce, Jacob Sweigart and Patrick Brinsfield.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad