Former Carroll delegate files for District 5 seat

A former delegate and Maryland parole commissioner has filed her candidacy for District 5 of the Maryland House of Delegates.

Carmen Amedori, 58, announced her intention to run in a news release Monday.

She is the sixth Republican and seventh candidate to file for what is now a three-member district.

The Westminster resident had represented Carroll County in the House from 1999 through 2004 before she was appointed to the Maryland Parole Commission. She served five-and-a-half years as a parole commissioner.

"It would be an honor, once again, to work for the citizens of Carroll County and serve as their voice on issues such as no tax increases, protections for the unborn child, the Second Amendment for gun owners, and defeating Common Core curriculum in our schools," Amedori said in a statement.

In the release, Amedori criticized Gov. Martin O'Malley's administration, saying citizens have been "overburdened with more taxes and fees, which the current House delegation did not fight hard enough against.

"We need to do more and we need to do it better. We need a stronger voice in Annapolis from our House delegation," Amedori said.

Amedori also took aim at the delegation's inability to pass the nonprofit casino fundraising bill in her announcement.

"This is a revenue issue and our non-profit volunteer fire companies will benefit from it," she said. "I would work to eliminate the current gridlock on local legislation and would enjoy working with our Senate delegation as a unified voice for Carroll County."

Amedori moved to Ocean City in 2010 to help care for her elderly father, but said she never really left Westminster.

She's lived in Westminster for 32 years and is now a licensed realtor.

Carroll County residents had previously been represented in Annapolis by four delegates from three districts, 4B, 5A and 9B.

Redistricting has moved the county's four Republican delegates into one three-member district. District 5 now covers all of Carroll, except for Mount Airy and areas south of Liberty Road.

Mount Airy residents will now be represented by District 4, a predominantly Frederick County seat. Carroll residents living south of Liberty Road will be represented by District 9A, a predominantly Howard County district.

Dels. Susan Krebs, Justin Ready and Donald Elliott have said they plan to seek re-election.

County Commissioner Haven Shoemaker and Manchester resident Joshua Stonko are also Republican candidates.

The lone Democrat to file is Westminster resident Zachary Hands, according to the Board of Elections.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad